Breaking News


August 08, 2017

MURRAY River Council is lurching towards its first election – with not enough candidates to fill its nine councillor positions.

And nearly every candidate is a former councillor with either Murray or Wakool shires, which were forced together to become MRC.

Only two people have nominated for the seats in Greater Murray Ward – former Murray Shire mayors Tom Weyrich and John Pocklington.

They will be elected un-opposed if there are no more nominations.

Margaret Messer from NSW Electoral Commission’s Murray River office said a by-election would be held later in the year to fill the remaining position if there were not enough nominees.

So far, the vast majority of candidates are former councillors from the amalgamated Murray and Wakool shires.

In Moama Gen Campbell, Geoff Mackenzie and Chris Bilkey are all former councillors who have nominated, while Nicole Cohen is a new face.

Former Wakool Shire mayor Neil Gorey is a candidate in Greater Wakool, along with fellow ex-councillor Alan Mathers and new nominee Christine Dartnell.

Nominations close tomorrow at midday with the election on September 9.

More in Riverine Herald
Login Sign Up

Dummy text