Brilliant Buckley to the four

October 11, 2017

SIMON Buckley has again been acknowledged for his fantastic season, taking out Echuca’s best and fairest on Saturday night.

As expected, the former AFL player’s consistency and class was too much for any player to overcome, the fourth time in five seasons he has won the award.

Youngster Jonte Opie, who was called up to the senior side late in the season, won the under 17s best and fairest.

For the netballers, Erin Hill’s tremendous season was rightly recognised, taking out the Judy Haw Medal for the A grade best and fairest.

Dearnah Kent was runner-up, while Abby Poulton took the coach’s award.

And Claudia Mawson was recognised for her hand in taking Echuca’s under 17s to the GVL grand final with the best and fairest, winning the award from Bridget Byrne. Margaret Green was given the coach’s award.

Outgoing president Brett Stevens was honoured at the night as club person of the year.

■ECHUCA United recently held its senior presentation night, with dashing defender Corey Wanganeen and gun centre Gracie Berryman taking home the top gongs for senior football and A grade netball respectively.

Duane Hueston, Judy Poole and Robyn Holmes were also granted their life memberships on the night that celebrated the end of a much-improved first season under senior coach Guy Campbell, where every football and netball side qualified for finals.

Runner-up league best and fairest Berryman won the A grade count from rising star Remy Day. Breanna Bookham was voted in as the A grade players’ player

Courageous captain Phil Hubbard was named runner-up, winger Brayden Worsnop voted the most consistent player and gun forward Nic Denahy the rising star of the team.

Jordan Godfrey took out the under 17s best and fairest, with Curtis Hayes runner-up.

Jessica Davidson won 17-and-under netball best and fairest, Emmerson Simpson runner-up.

■MOAMA recently held its annual presentation night to celebrate another strong season in the black and white.

Jon and Joan Power were both awarded the club person of the year award, and Kyle Phipps received life membership with the club.

Rhys Archard, as expected, took home the senior best and fairest award, with Luke Dunham runner-up as well as most valuable player.

Under 17s captain Todd Murphy won his side’s best and fairest in the premiership year, Jake Kneebone finishing runner-up.

The A grade netball premiership-winning side named defender Ange Slattery as the best and fairest, coach Charlotte Long finishing as the runner-up.

Captain Alex Daly took out the coach’s award.

And in the 17-and-under netball, Alannah Gilmore won the best and fairest from Olivia Taverna.

More in Riverine Herald
Login Sign Up

Dummy text