Kelly goes under par to take A grade result

November 11, 2017

Rich River


Tuesday saw Dave Kelly shoot under par to claim A grade from Jeff Ridge, who claimed the consolation of the super-pin on the fourth.

This NTP was not without controversy, as many would question how Jeff managed this on the fourth in spite of a bunker between the tee and green.

B grade produced an incredibly close result, with Graham Willis enjoying the trip home to Rochester after taking the victory on a countback.

Alan Johnson blitzed the field in C grade with a fine score of forty-five points.

There were one hundred and forty-nine in the field on the west course with thirty-nine points winning a voucher.

A grade:1st: David Kelly (45), 2nd: Jeff Ridge (42), 3rd: Joel Watson (41).

B grade:1st: Graham Willis (40), 2nd: Kevin Crawford (40), 3rd: Wayne Campbell (39).

C grade:1st: Alan Johnson (45), 2nd: Graeme Birch (41), 3rd: John Moore (41).

NTPs:4th: Jeff Ridge, Noel Dixon & Peter O’Halloran. 8th: Brian O’Neill, Brian Suffolk & Bob Peters. 13th: Joel Watson, Lawrie Wrest & Geoff Kelly. Eagle 6th: David Kelly.

Super-pin: Jeff Ridge ($104).

Thursday’s play saw plus five as the best score of the day with five players reaching the mark.

John Bedford won A grade and the nearest the pin on the thirteenth and Brian Malone won a three-way countback for the major B grade prize from Malcolm Mitchell and John Lane.

Alan Johnson took out C grade with Gary Bennett winning the super-pin on the fourth.

There were one hundred and sixty-five on the West course with Plus 2 winning a voucher.

A grade:1st: John Bedford (+5), 2nd: Len Prior (+4), 3rd: Steve Edwards (+3).

B grade:1st: Brian Malone (+5), 2nd: Malcolm Mitchell (+5), 3rd: John Lane (+5).

C grade:1st: Alan Johnson (+5), 2nd: Ron Bissett (+4), 3rd: Noel Wallace (+4).

NTPs:4th: Gary Bennett, Albie Missen & John Moore. 8th: Baden Thorsen, John Dunne & Greg Brierley. 13th: John Bedford, Trevor Hay & Geoff Strachan.

Super-pin: Gary Bennett ($145).

Saturday saw the November monthly medal was also the medal of medallist event, with the monthly medal winners from the past year competing for the title.

Rex Matthews won the monthly medal with a fine score of nett 66 and Chris Sanders was this year’s medal of medallists with a Nett 70.

Steve Jones won a sub-par pin with the best scratch score of the day of seventy-one.

Steve Edwards won the A grade nett event.

Wayne Campbell kept his head above water this week to post the best scratch score in B grade.

It was Kaine Anderson’s turn to visit a dam this week when his runaway buggy found the one behind the fifteenth green.

Just a reminder to all players that the dams are deep and most buggies do have brake mechanisms which can be useful.

Joe Burton had an excellent nett sixty-seven to win the B grade event. Len Adams took the C grade scratch with the monthly medal winner Rex Matthews taking the nett event out.

Rob Kilgour was smiling like a fish that missed the hook after he won a big super-pin jackpot.

A big field of one hundred and ninety-five played on the East course with Nett 73 winning a voucher.

A grade:1st: Steve Edwards (69), 2nd: Blair Christie (72), 3rd: Steve Jones (scratch - 71).

B grade:1st: Leon Burton (67), 2nd: David Whytcross (69), 3rd: Wayne Campbell (scratch - 84).

C grade:1st: Rex Matthews (66), 2nd: Frank Gough (70), 3rd: Len Adams (scratch - 93).

NTPs:3rd: Bryce Lowndes, David Edwards & John King. 8th: Bruce Richards, Frank McGlade & Ian Maddison. 13th: Steve Edwards, Trevor Thornhill & Craig Opie. 16th: Graham Peat, Rob Kilgour & Ian Scurrah. Eagle 15th: Blair Christie.

Super-pin: Rob Kilgour ($170).

Monthly Medal: Rex Matthews.

Medal of Medallist’s: Chris Sanders.


Wednesday’s play saw a stroke event including a longest drive competition played on the West course.

69 women enjoyed the sunshine and plenty of run on the course.

Division 1:1st: Carol Eddy (72), 2nd: Barb Sands (74), 3rd: Cath Kelly on a countback (74).

Division 2:1st: Chris Kelly (69), 2nd: Sally Hojnik (72), 3rd: Bernie Smith (73).

Division 3:1st: Ruth Turpin (74), 2nd: Kerry McLoughlan (75), 3rd: Kay Sargentson on a countback (75).

NTPs:Cheryl Ashworth and Ruth Turpin.

Second shot:Marilyn Robins on the 8th.

Super pin:Louise Watach.

Longest drives:A grade: Fiona Watach, B grade: Sally Hojnik, C grade: Karen Evans.

The winner of the nine hole stroke event was Stephanie Shine (37), with runner up Jennifer French (38).

The ball rundown went to 76

Unseasonable, cold and windy weather greeted a full field of women on Saturday when a Stroke round was played on the East course.

Results:1st: Liz Easther (72), 2nd: Lee Boulton (73), Noeline King on a countback (73).

Super pin:Noeline King.

The ball rundown went to 78 points.

36 women turned out to play a nine hole round of Stableford on the East course on Monday.

Division 1:1st: Kerry McLoughlan (22), 2nd: Ingrid Cockcroft (20).

Division 2:1st: Jennifer French (24), 2nd: Joy Debney (22)

NTP: Judy McCartney (8th)

Second shot: Joy Debney (3rd).

The ball rundown went to 17 points.

YMCA Back niners

Thursday, November 3rd:

Mens A:1st: A. Schulz (33), 2nd: J. Hewitt (35), 3rd: M. Beard (36)

Women’s A:1st: J. Kirkman (35), 2nd: E. Banko (36)

Mens B:1st: D. Lavery (33), 2nd: S. Clover (36), 3rd: T. Stevens (37)

Women’s B:1st: D. vanderdruft (38), 2nd: C. Shultz (40)

Men’s straightest drive:A: E. Qualman, B: B. Mudd, O/70: T. Maynard

Women’s straightest drive:A: J. Kirkman, B: C. Shultz

Mens NTP:6th: N. Hodge

Women’s NTP:4th: E. Banko, 6th: J. Kirkman

Saturday the 5th

Results:1st: B. Young (34), 2nd: A. Schulz (35), 3rd: J. Bennett & J. Hewitt (36).

Straightest Drive:S. Tyler

More in Riverine Herald
Login Sign Up

Dummy text