Top players take out awards

December 02, 2017

Heather Gunstone and Margaret Mould from the Rich River Golf Club were successful at the 2017 Goulburn Murray Golf Association Quality Teams Player of the Year Awards this week. Heather was the outright winner scoring 40 points playing in 24 events while as runner up Marg scored 38 points playing in 22 events.

Rich River

WARM congratulations go to our own intrepid golfers Heather Gunstone and Marg Mould who were successful at the Goulburn Murray Golf Association Player of the Year Awards.

Heather was the winner with 40 points closely followed by Marg with 38.

These two players successfully represented Rich River at several tournaments throughout 2017.


The fine conditions brought out the big scores with 40 points needed to win a voucher.

In C grade John Veitch had a great score of 49, with John Fairservice an unlucky runner-up with 48 points.

Peter McLaughlin had a fine score of 45 to win B grade and Graham Mose won the A grade event with an excellent score of 41.

There were 154 in the field on the east course with 40 stableford points winning a voucher.

A grade: 1st: Graham Mose (41), 2nd: Peter Anderson (39), 3rd: Ray Carr (38).

B grade: 1st: Peter McLaughlin (45), 2nd: John Taylor (41), 3rd: Bruce Richie (41).

C grade: 1st: John Veitch (49), 2nd: John Fairservice (48), 3rd: Rob Merlo (45).

NTPs: 3rd: Bill Bayles, Ross Taylor & John Veitch. 8th: Peter Anderson, Kevin Murphy and Les Chafer. 13th: Andrew Purdy, John Taylor and KD Martin. 16th: Nick Batchelor, Neil Edwards and John Forrest.

Super-pin:16th: John Forrest ($104).

Craig Opie won C grade easily in Thursday’s stableford event, with the score of the day.

Jayden Dixon and Col Masenhelder were separated by one point with fantastic scores for A Grader’s and it was a countback in B Grade with Dom Cerrone edging out Rodney Woodman.

There were 152 golfers on the east course with forty points winning a voucher.

A grade: 1st: Jayden Dixon (45), 2nd: Col Masenhelder (44), 3rd: Glenn Rogers (41).

B grade: 1st; Dom Cerrone (42), 2nd: Rodney Woodman (42), 3rd: Nev Toohey (41).

C grade: 1st: Craig Opie (47), 2nd: Claude Bennett (42), 3rd: Geoff Ervin (42).

NTPs: 3rd: Mick Mahady, Rodney Woodman and George Benham. 8th: Terry Kennedy, Des Gallagher and Peter Lyon. 13th: John Bedford, Len Drill and Craig Opie. 16th: Glenn Rogers, Stan Berry and Tony Lawlor.

Eagle: 5th: Nev Toohey and Glenn Rogers. 11th: Blair Christie and John Stratton.

Super-pin: 16th: Terry Kennedy ($122).

Bill Bayles took out the A grade event on Saturday with Dean Jacobs and Tim Leat in hot pursuit.

Peter McKechnie and Jim Wagstaff had to be separated by a countback in B grade and Simon Cheong had the score of the day to win C grade.

Steve Palling had a big payout for the super-pin on the fourth.

A field of 184 played on the west course with 38 points on a countback winning a voucher.

A grade: 1st: Bill Bayles (41), 2nd: Dean Jacobs (40), 3rd: Tim Leat (39).

B grade: 1st: Peter McKechnie (42), 2nd: Jim Wagstaff (42), 3rd: Wayne Eden (41).

C grade: 1st: Simon Cheong (43), 2nd: Ian Young (41), 3rd: Bob Young (39).

NTPs: 4th: Kirk Ardley, Steve Palling and Jeff Carnie. 8th: John Bedford, Stephen Moss and Aaron Loader. 13th: Steve Jones, Jim Wagstaff and Bill Brodribb.

Eagle: 6th: Blair Christie and Andrew Jacobs. 16th: Dean Jacobs.

Super-pin: Steve Palling ($164).


Soaring temperatures reduced the field on Wednesday, however 53 players completed a stroke round on the East course.

In spite of the heat, some fine scores were recorded.

Division one: 1st: Josie Kirkman (68), 2nd: Nola Bennett (73).

Division two: 1st: Diane Watson (70), 2nd: Marilyn Carr (72).

Division three: On a countback 1st: Anna Nicholas-Martin (74), 2nd: Shirley Phelan (74).

NTPs: 16th: A grade Joy Kelly, B grade Joyce Moresi.

Second shot: Nola Bennett (13th).

Super pin: 8th: Rosanne Sharp.

The ball rundown went to 75.

There was no nine hole competition.

A Stableford event was played on the west course on Saturday with 28 women taking part.

Results: 1st: Josie Kirkman (40), 2nd: on a countback Noeline King (39), 3rd: Deb Morden (39).

NTP: 8th: Jennifer Putna.

Super pin: 13th: Wendy Johnstone.

The ball rundown went to 36.

25 women attempted a nine hole stroke round on the west course on Monday.

Division one: 1st: on a countback Lorraine Harrison (34), 2nd: Christine Ross (34).

Division two: 1st: Trish Williams (34), 2nd: Lyn Bailey (36).

NTP: 8th: Christine Ross.

Second Shot: 8th: Marg Holmfield.

More in Riverine Herald
Login Sign Up

Dummy text