Mathoura gets the better of Elmore to take title

March 14, 2018

Max Bennett of Echuca during the CVBD weekend pennant division 3 grand final between City of Echuca and Elmore. Photo by Luke Hemer.

Ben Franklin of Moama during the CVBD weekend pennant division 4 grand final between Moama and Rich River. Photo by Luke Hemer.


MATHOURA took out the Campaspe Valley Bowls Division midweek pennant’s division two competition in a tight-win over Elmore.

Played on Friday, the grand final went the way of Mathoura at Deniliquin RSL, in a scoreline that read Mathoura 68 defeated Elmore 61.

The side defeated a gallant Elmore team who played strongly throughout to take it right up to Mathoura, who were just too steady on the day.

In the club championships, the B Grade 21-Up Singles saw S. O’Callaghan defeat J. Cheep.

This means Gary Hulm and Stephen O’Callaghan will play off for the championship on a date to be advised, please check at the bowls office for the date.

In the 100-Up Handicap, S. Limbrick defeated R. Werner.

The annual general meeting for the men’s bowls committee will be held on Tuesday, March 27. Nominations must be with secretary Lindsay Vallance by the 20th.

Presentation night for the club will be held on Friday, April 27.

Moama RSL

INDOOR bowls was played on Monday, with four players competing in three games of 10 ends.

The winners on 48 points were Derek Smith (s), Heather Smith, Rick Panozzo and Phyllis Allez. Runners-up with 36 points were Peter Pavone (s), Jean Shelley, Ron Stranger and Doug Gill.

Consolation prizes went to Alan Haw, Rhys Jenkins, Topsy Haw and Myrle Clancy.

Rich River

RICH River’s mixed indoor bowls last week saw winners in Bob Pascoe’s team, which included Janette Robertson and Pat Squire.

Runners-up were Tony O’Dwyer (skipper), Myrle Clancy and Doug Gill.

Outdoor bowls for Rich River saw division four fall just short in their attempt to win the premiership going down to Moama 80-70. After giving Moama a handy lead, they fought back to level the scores but Moama came again to win the title.

Jackpot pairs was played on March 7, with Toby Egan (s) and Gary Redford being added to the winners’ list. Runners-up were Trevor Nagorcka (s) and Kd Martin.

Third place went to Paul Kearney and Brian Kearney, while the repechage went to Robert Holmfield and John James.

Ten ladies played in glorious conditions on Tuesday, with Sandy Harvey coming out on top.

In the 100-Up competition, Liz Easther took out top honours overall, with Marg Young settling for second.


UPCOMING tournaments at the club this month include the Ladies Open Classic Fours on Sunday, March 25.

To get involved, contact the bowls office on 5481 3777.

At the indoor bowls on Sunday, March 4, the social winners were Harvey Burt, Colin Hicks, Joan Heales, and Joy Hooper. Runners-up were Lynn McVicker, Sam Natazi, Ivy Nash and Ron Hooper.

On Tuesday, March 6, the indoor social winners were Doug Gill, Colin Hicks, John McVicker, and Peter Pavone. Runners-up were Paula Barkham, Audrey Matchett and Tony O’Dwyer.

Thursday, March 8 saw indoor social taken out by Dot Ryan, Isobeil Wallis, John McVicker, and Joy Hooper. Runners-up were Bev Guarda, Mike Barkham, Joan Heales, and Ivy Nash.

In the outdoor bowls section, last Tuesday’s social was won by Irene Lacis and Lorraine Ogden. Runners-up were Sandra Attard and Jill Marshall.

In the Alby Matthews Triple, the winners were Bernie O’Connell, Rod Allen and Greg Pettigrove. Runners-up were Ron Bunting, Jim Hogan and Rob Wastell.

On Thursday, the Ladies Scroungers was won by Lorna Jones. Runner-up was Joyce Fahey.

The Men’s Pairs winners on Thursday were Ben Franklin and Mick Geoghegan. Runners-up were Neville Varcoe and Wayne Stephenson.

Yesterday’s Ladies Social winners were Irene Lacis and Rhonda Solomon. Runners-up were Heather Bakof and Marg Meulenkamp.

More in Riverine Herald
Login Sign Up

Dummy text