Souter to lead Murray

May 16, 2018

Murray League captain Jordan Souter.

Souter to lead Murray

TONGALA coach Jordan Souter has been named as the captain of the Murray Football League’s interleague squad for this weeks match against the Gippsland Football League.

Souter said the excitement of playing alongside the best players in the competition was a highlight.

‘‘You get to know a lot of guys in the competition better,’’ he said.

‘‘You don’t have that relationship when you are in your club, but as you get to know them through this you become mates with them.’’

While it is an exciting opportunity, Souter says he won’t be overwhelmed by the position he is in.

‘‘I don’t really think about stuff like that,’’ he said.

‘‘It’s a great opportunity and I’m just hoping we can produce as a team on the weekend.’’

Pearse in form for Panpac

ECHUCA young gun Col Pearse has continued his incredible form in the pool.

He took to the pool in Sydney last month for the Georgina Hope Foundation Australian age national swimming championships.

Swimming in multiclass events, Pearse claimed first spot in the 11-15 year old boys 400m freestyle.

He would also go on to claim second in a stack of events: 11/15years 200m IM, 11/14 years 50m free, 11/14 years 100m fly, 11/14 years 100m back, 11/14 years 50m fly and 11/14 years 50m back.

Pearse swam personal best times in all of his events.

The times were also Australian age multi class records for the 14 years S10 category.

Pearse finished the season with records in S10 14 years boy 50m freestyle, 100m freestyle, 200m freestyle, 400m freestyle, 50m butterfly, 100m butterfly, butterfly 200m butterfly, 50m back, 100m back, 200m back, 200m IM and the 400m IM.

In attempts to further his swimming career, Col has made the move to swim for Melbourne H2O.

Pearse’s next big outing is the Panpac trials in July.

Cyclist falls in scratch

ECHUCA Moama Cycling Club’s graded scratch race on Saturday was a tough day in the saddle, with strong winds and one rider coming off.

A Grade headed off first with 10 riders. Trent Stevenson and Kayden Jeffreys took first and second and Josh Thomson in third.

B Grade, with 12 riders was won by Mal McLeod with Neil Thomson in second and Craig Riddington in third.

In C grade Paul Oman crashed and came down. His group rallied around to make sure he was okay before getting back on their bikes to finish the race, no placings were given.

D Grade was won by Dave Faulkner from Majella McLeod in second. Third place going to Zenon Gawronski.

Next EMCC Road Race is May 26 at Koyuga circuit for the Ivan and Lorraine Collins series.

A spot of bowls

MATHOURA Bowls Club’s Winter Tournament Program attracted 26 teams on the weekend.

Saturday had five three-game winners, and Sunday’s finals game one was won by Bruce Papworth and his team, and game two to Steve Patching and his team.

Runner-up was the team of (lead) G. Hulm, (third) C. Hillier and (skip) M. Quor. Winners were (lead) B. Ireland, (third) J. Bates and (skip) L. Vallance.

The Mathoura Gulpa Creek Open Fours will be held tomorrow and Sunday. Entries to Rod Werner 0408 568 338.

At City of Echuca bowls, the 12-day carnival concluded, with winners across the day’s events.

Day 1 was won by Rob Anset (Kyabram) and Norma Hall (Echuca). Best last game: Julie Bennett (Edithvale) and Clive Usher (Rochester).

Day 2: won by Tony Hawley, Lyn Snell (Echuca), Jenni and Tony Tonta (Deniliquin RSL). Best last game: Graham and Marg Watson (Epping RSL), John and Sue Roffey (Whittlesea).

Day 3: won by Richard Blain (Moama), John and Helene Beasy. Day 4: won by (ladies) Bev Teggelove (Clifton Springs) and Janet Smith (Strathmore). (Men) Graham Watson (Epping RSL) and John Roffey (Whittlesea).

Day 5: won by Vern and Merilyn Rehe, Brian Davie (Moama) and Rhonda Gallagher (Echuca). Best last game: Ray and Dawn Pope, Loude Cata (Carrum) and Marie Malone (Echuca).

Day 6: won by Keith and Bev Button (Kyabram). Best last game: Russell Kelly and Jeanette Breen (Echuca).

Day 7: won by Graeme Turner (Lockington), Rhonda Gallagher (Echuca) and Brian Davie (Moama). Best last game: Eddie Blampied, Toby and Chris Egan (Echuca).

Day 8: won by John Blair, Peter Phyland, Joan Armstrong (Echuca) and Anne Williams (Elmore). Best last game: Philip Thorn, Pat Schram, Jeanette Breen (Echuca) and Mal Thorn (Keilor).

Day 9: won by (ladies) Sandra Chapman and Barb Voigt (Buninyong). (Men) Graham Watson (Epping RSL) and John Roffey (Whittlesea).

Day 10: won by Bruce and Judy Lyons (Clifton Springs) and Carlie Taylor (Echuca). Best last game: Wendy Pryde, John Waters (Mornington Civic) and Richard Blain (Moama).

Day 11: won by (ladies) Janis Parks and Robyn Dennis (Inverloch and San Remo). (Men) Peter and Keith Tinning (Tongala).

At Moama RSL, 27 players played three games of seven ends. Winners were Alan Haw (s), Ron Stranger, Topsy Haw and Dawn Beer.

Pennant indoor bowls round one, game two: Rochester Red lost to Bamawm Extension 40-65; Moama RSL defeated Rochester Green 72-53; and Moama BC defeated Rich River 59-46.

Rafferty returns with Spirit

FORMER Moama cricketer Chloe Rafferty has been included in the Victoria Spirit contracted players for 2018/19.

Rafferty made her Melbourne Stars WBBL debut late in the 2017/18 season.

More in Riverine Herald
Login Sign Up

Dummy text