Berrigan cricketers show off golf skills

By Southern Riverina News


A great day was enjoyed at the three-person ambrose competition on Sunday.

A total of 63 players took to the course in fine conditions.

Some very close scores came in but it was Andrew Hawkins, Graeme Parr and Zac Nugent representing the Berrigan Cricket Club who took the honours.

Coming a close second were Rohan and John O’Neil and Travis Voight representing the Blue Door.

Everyone enjoyed a barbecue lunch cooked by the ever reliable David Batten.

A golf bag was raffled and was won by Vanessa Geeves.

The club thanks everyone who supported the day including sponsors and volunteer workers, the committee look forward to seeing everyone at the next social day.

Friday and Saturday golf hits off at 3pm and Sunday tee off is 12.30pm. All welcome.


At the Billabong Freight men’s competition, Wayne Peasley with 36 stableford points took out the trophy and also NTP on the 18th on Wednesday.

Ball competition winners were Bill Mansell (34), Bill Judd (34) and Ian Swain, from Tasmania, (33).

The Matt Daniel Plumbing NAGA Trophy went to Alan Hadrell (Cobram).

A handy field hit off for the Thursday afternoon nine hole stroke competition. Bill Judd who carded 26.5 net collected the voucher.

Ball competition winners were Josh Morris (30), Marty Piggin (30.5) and John Taylor (31.5).

Visitors and locals turned out for the Robertson Farms, two-person ambrose event played on Saturday.

Peter Orro and Mick Taylor claimed the men’s division with 61.75 net.

Kim McCaw and Gay Henderson with 73.5 took out the ladies division and Grant Shaw and Kellie White with 65 net won the mixed division.

NTP on the 13th was Kim McCaw and on the 18th Leo McNamara.

Balls went to Seth Howell and John Taylor (66.75), Rob and Kath Klemke (67.5), Colin McNamara and Barry Wilson (68), and Bill Judd and Bill Mansell (69.25). Rand Wilson and Josh Morris took the NAGA trophy.

The Xerri Evans Accounting stroke event was played on Sunday which saw Leo McNamara card 69 net to claim the Division One trophy as well as the Cock of the Walk Title.

Alan Hand with 70 net took out Division Two while Enid Bain with 72 net took the ladies trophy as well as the ladies putting, after countback, with 30 putts.

NTP on the 18th went Eric Dean.

Ball competition winners were Simon Fuller (71), Barry Fahey (72), Bill Mansell (72), Grant Wilson (72) and Helen Wastle (74).

Rick Harris picked up the NAGA trophy.

Finley Ladies

Ladies opening round of Wednesday golf started with a good number of golfers playing the GA Edwards & Sons two-person ambrose nine hole event, followed by luncheon provided by golfers.

Winners were Margot Robertson and Janet Delmenico 38.125.

It was ideal weather and the course was in beautiful condition. Thanks to Peter and his band of helpers especially over these trying conditions.

Any ladies wanting to play golf please contact Finley Golf Club.

The Finley Ladies Open Tournament will be played at 9am for a 9.30am start on Friday.


Gentsomes stableford with two best scores to count was played by 16 groups of ladies with Beth Muir, Vicky Kelly, Cheryl Rossborough, Kathleen Williams taking the win with 98 points on Tuesday last week.

In second place was Margery Boyce, Wendy Bedford, Adorree Bailey and Lynne Parry 94.

The highlight of the day was Lynne Parry, who had three NTPs with one being the Pro Pin.

Wednesday saw 97 men playing stableford from the blue markers with Division One going to Adam Purtill with 37 points on countback from Doug Pocknee (Cobram- Barooga Golf Club).

Douglas Carney was the Division Two winner with 38 points on countback from Ian Cameron and Wayne Kerr took out Division Three with 38 points, followed by Ian McFarlane 35.

NTPs went to Philip Cheeswright 2nd, Graeme Filippe 8th, Martin Studwick Pro Pin $100.

Men’s Gold winner was Allan Penny on 35 points followed by Laurence Rickard and Graeme Sharp, 33 each.

There were 31 ladies playing par on Saturday with Division One going to Jill Collins with 3-up followed by Petra Wilmot with 1-up.

Di Mitchell was the Division Two winner with 1-up, Marlene Bailey was runner-up with 2-down.

NTPs went to Sally Schott 2nd, Carmel Butcher 17th.

Sixty-six men played par from the white markers with Division One won by John Schaeche with 6-up. Runner-up went to Allan De Luca 4-up.

Raymond Bailey was the Division Two winner with 5-up just ahead of Patrick Boake with 4-up.

David Webb took honours with 4-up in Division Three followed by Maxwell Sneddon 3-up.

NTPs went to Philip Cheesewright 2nd, Mark O’Brien 17th.

Men’s Gold winner was Allan Penny with 2-down.

Sunday saw 15 ladies playing stableford with Petra Wilmot taking the win with 36 points. NTP went to Lindy Cooper 2nd.

The club had 39 pairs playing 4BBB stableford in the Tony Baldwin Memorial Qualifier that saw Philip Cheeswright and Rod Buchmasser taking the win with 47 points followed by Maxwell Sneddon and Stephen Grant who had 46.

In third place was Noddy Ireland and Luke Blair also on 46.

NTPs went to David Donchi 2nd, Peter Bolt 18th.