Monthly Medal win for Bull

By Southern Riverina News


Neil Bull stood tall in the men’s Monthly Medal on Sunday, claiming both Division Three and the medal win.

Bull managed an impressive score of 67 net to win the day.

Division One was won by Ben Kerr on 68 net, with Peter Bolt the gross winner with 73 off the stick.

Division Two gross winner was Stephen Conrick 88, while grade winner was Jon Whelan.

Division Three gross winner was Tom Whelan with 95 off the stick, with Tom also finishing as runner-up in the grade with 72 net.

NTPs went to Kevin Waller 2nd, Adam Purtill 17th. Stroke Gold winner was Laurence Rickard.

A group of 10 ladies also played stroke with Shellei Clark taking the win with 70 net. NTP went to Petra Wilmot 2nd.

A field of 51 ladies played par on Tuesday last week, with Division One going to Jill Collins with 1-up followed by Julie Penny 1-down.

Jan Taylor was the Division Two winner with 1-up on countback from Robyn Conrick.

Division Three went to Elizabeth Quick with 4-up followed by Nat Beard with 1-up.

NTPs went to Robyn Conrick 2nd, Cheryl Hart 8th, Joan Burns Pro Pin $55.

Forty-nine men played stableford blue on Wednesday with Division One going to Trevor McCaw, with 39 points, followed by Mark O’Brien 38.

Division Two was won by Philip Cheeswright 39 points, runner-up was Stephen Conrick 38.

Bruce Stubbley was the Division Three winner with 36 points, Desmond Kucks was runner-up 32.

NTPs went to John Bradbury on the 2nd and 8th.

Men’s Gold winner was Allan Penny on 40 points.

Saturday saw 49 ladies and 50 men playing stableford with Kerry Conrad scoring 39 points to win ladies Division One ahead of Margaret Fergus on 38.

Anne Brown was the Division Two winner with 37 points with Nat Beard runner-up on 35.

NTPs went to Petra Wilmot 2nd, Nat Beard 18th.

Men’s Division One winner was John Kenna with 40 points followed by David Purtill 39.

Jim Williams was the Division Two winner with 36 points, runner-up went to Jeffrey Harris 35.

David Webb won Division Three with 34 points on countback from Jeffrey Innes.

NTPs went to Mike Sherlock 2nd, Malcolm Hart 18th.

Men’s Gold winner was Allan Penny 40 points.


It was a small field of men who took to the course following Wednesday morning’s rain for the Berriquin Funerals Stableford Competition.

John Taylor came out on top with 35 points to take the voucher.

NTP on the 18th went begging, ball competition winner was Paul Pinnuck (33) and the Matt Daniel Plumbing NAGA was won in fine style by Bob Makkinga.

It was a dead heat in the race for the clubhouse when the storm hit causing the abandonment of the Thursday afternoon Nine Hole Stableford Competition.

The action picked back up on Saturday with the Finley Bakery stroke event and Paul Pinnuck with 69 net took the men’s daily trophy.

Janet Delmenico’s 77 net gave her the ladies trophy and Linda Rendell with 30 putts claimed the ladies putting trophy.

NTP on the 18th went begging once again.

Ball competition winners were Barry Wilson (71), John Taylor (75) and Tina Bell (81), while Beau Makkinga claimed another NAGA Trophy.

On Sunday, the Finley Hardware stableford event was played and saw Alan Hand card 38 points to claim the men’s trophy.

Janet Delmenico with 32 points accepted the ladies trophy.

NTP on the 13th was Kellie White and on the 18th Trevor McCaw.

Ball competition winners were Nick Braybon (35), Barry Fahey (34), Toody Braybon (30) and Christine Shaw (30).

At the weekend it is Monthly Medal on Saturday and on Sunday stableford will be played.