Golf report

By McIvor Times

A TOTAL of 71 men and 14 ladies took part in a stroke event at the Axedale Golf Club on Saturday. The day’s sponsor was MLC Advice.

Men’s event

In first division, for handicaps of 0-15, the winner was Roger Heider (74 gross, 8 h/c, 66 nett). The runner-up was Peter Hoskin (75 gross, 8 h/c, 67 nett) from Paul Pyke (76 gross, 7 h/c, 69 nett) on a count-back.

In division two, for handicaps of 16-20, the winner was Brendan James (85 gross, 19 h/c, 66 nett). The runner-up was Jim Long (88 gross, 20 h/c, 68 nett) on a count-back from Don Mitchell (87 gross, 19 h/c, 68 nett).

In division three, for handicaps of 21-36, the winner was Fred Dijkman (88 gross, 23 h/c, 65 nett). The runner-up was Eric Rogers (87 gross, 21 h/c, 66 nett), while John Torney secured third place (88 gross, 21 h/c, 67 nett) on a count-back.

Ball winners: Alan Darby 67, Bill Andrea 69, Rod Threlfall 69, Ryan Fitzpatrick 69, Len Rodda 70, Peter Richardson 70.

Ladies event

In division one of the ladies for handicaps of 0-45, the winner was Megan McPherson (104 gross, 33 h/c, 71 nett). The runner-up was Loretta Prowse (88 gross, 14 h/c, 74 nett).

Stableford: Muriel Pitts (30 h/c, 27 nett).

Nearest the pins

1st hole — division one: Nick Williamson; division two: Aiden Fitzgerald.

3rd hole, 2nd shot — division one: Colin Green; division two: Mick Purdon.

6th hole — open: Phil Brooks.

16th hole — Superpin: Peter Hoskin.

18th hole — division one: Rod Threlfall; division two: Dom Pompei.

Other highlights

Best Gross: Lex Johnstone 74 on a count-back.

Putting winner: Peter Hoskin 26 putts.

KO results: Steve Lee d Paul O’Sullivan 3/1; Russell McGibbon d Peter Williamson 2/1.

■A GROUP of 48 men took part in a stableford event at the Axedale Golf Club on Thursday, April 4.

The event was sponsored by Martlec Electrical Services.

In division one (0-19) the winner was Paul Pyke (8 h/c, 41 points). The runner-up was David Ivey (11 h/c, 39 points) on a count-back from Fred Kath (8 h/c, 39 points).

In division two (20-36) the winner was Eric Rogers (21 h/c, 40 points). The runner-up was Robin Miller (28 h/c, 38 points) on a count-back from Brian Fry (30 h/c, 38 points) also on a count-back.

Ball winners: Mark Davies (38), Paul Duncan (38), Denis Boden (36), Peter Williamson (36), Brian Retallick (36) and Max Kettle (35 on a count-back).

Nearest the pins:

1st hole — division one: Gary Johnstone; division two: John Gastin.

3rd hole, 2nd shot — division one: Garry Harrop; division two: John Randles.

6th hole — open: Max Kettle.

17th hole Presidential (Longest) Putt: Len Rodda.

18th hole — division one: Fred Kath; division two: No winner — jackpots.

Encouragement Award: Division one: Bill Ferrari; division two: Vik Sabaliauskas.

Monthly Trophy Qualifier: Paul Pyke (41).