Campaspe golf

By Campaspe News


What a happy chappy we had winning the niners day.

Ray Peake had a magnificent score of 46-161/2-291/2.

Needless to say, the putting helped as he also had 12 putts to win that as well.

Visitor Wayne Cody was the runner-up on (47-14-33).

NTP: 5th - John Oakley. 7th - Tony Murray

Straightest drive: 9th - Laurie Radley.

Wednesday’s ladies winner was Florrie Bickley (51-171/2-371/2). Naida Belot was runner-up with (61-22-39).

Ruth O’Connor continued to be consistent with her straightest drive on the 3rd, Faye Latter’s putter was the hottest with 14 putts and the raffle went to Naida Belot.

We are having an Anzac Day event, assembly at noon, hitting off at 12.30pm.

All members please bring a plate to share after the game.

Subs are now overdue.


Although the course is very dry, the fairways, where cut have provided a much easier surface to play off and with the newly oiled and sanded scrapes some good scoring is still possible as was shown over the last week.

Laurie Radley, Robert Vise and Kevin McCormick all scored 24 stableford points in Wednesday’s 9 hole event played over the front nine, Radley was finally announced the winner after an extensive countback.

Peter Anderson was the nearest the pin winner for his shot on the 5th.

Vise’s good form continued on Saturday over 18 holes to win with a great score of 42 points from Anderson 40, while captain Leigh Hicks and Radley both finished on 39.

Vise was the nearest on 3 & 8, while Bruce Bryant was closest on 5, all players were presented with Easter Eggs donated by Geoff Sharp.

A reminder, subs are now due at the reduced rate of $200 and $100 for those who haven’t been a member for three or more years.

President Ian Clark thanked those members who assisted at the Audax breakfast a few Sundays ago and to the local businesses who contributed goods in making this a worthwhile fundraiser, your generosity was greatly appreciated.

Assembly for Wednesday’s 9 hole is 8.30am, ladies Friday events are at 9.30am and the men’s Saturday events get underway at noon.

The club is looking for members interested in playing 9 holes on Saturdays with hit off scheduled for around 2pm.

Please contact either captain Hicks or president Clark.

Last Wednesday the men played a three-person ambrose on the back nine.

The team of Kevin McCormick, Bruce Bryant and Spencer Broom’s score of net 29 4/6 was just enough to beat the unlucky team of Tim Quinlan, Gary Charnas and President Ian Clark on 29 5/6.

Gary Charnas hit two great shots for nearest to the pin on holes 12 and 16.

Saturday saw a small field compete in the first par event of the season, Leigh Hicks’ solid golf on the back nine meant his score of + 3 was enough to win from Bruce Bryant +2 and Peter Anderson +1.

Jake Wright was the nearest the pin winner for his shot on 5.

Assembly for Wednesday’s 9 hole is 8.30am, ladies’ Friday events are at 9.30am and the men’s Saturday events get underway at 12 noon.

The club is looking for members interested in playing 9 holes on Saturdays with hit off scheduled for around 2.00pm, please contact either captain Hicks or president Clark.

The club’s Annual Tournament is back to its early May dates with the ladies 4 ball to take place on Thursday, May 16 and the men’s on Friday, May 17.

The men’s open championship is over 18 holes on the Federal Election Day Saturday, May 18.

While on Sunday a new event has been created this year, the club will experiment with a three-person ambrose event, these days have proved popular with new, old players and those wishing to have some fun with family members and friends.


Saturday’s round was the first comp for the season and some good scores were returned in the battle for the Privilege Cup.

President Ray Brereton won the cup, as well as B grade honours, with an excellent score of 43, on a countback from the unlucky Barry Graham.

A distant third in B grade was Darren Carnie, back on 37.

Mat Dennis won A grade with a solid 37, in front of Terry Thomas and Grant Humbert, who both scored 35.

C grade was won by Blake Humbert with a good score of 38, ahead of Ian Maddison, Tom Scurrah and Des Pentreath, who all finished with 37. JD Wright was next best with 36.

NTP’s: 3rd – James Hodgens; 2nd shot 5th – James Hodgens (A), Will Hardess (B), Mark Lyons (C); 2nd shot 18th for the 6-pack smack – Bruce Haines.

Spike’s Longest Drive: 10th – James Hodgens (A), Ray Brereton (B), Blake Humbert (C).

Neither the Echuca CIH eagles nest on the 3rd, nor Captain Will’s yardstick on the 16th was won.

Upcoming events: Tuesday 16th April – Committee Meeting. Wednesday 17th April – 9 Holes – Three-person Ambrose Drop-out – Bring & share lunch. Duty: Kathy Connors, Pauline Humbert. Saturday 20th April – Stroke – Monthly Medal. Duty: Andrew Glatte, James Hodgens.


The start of the season. What a great day.

Last Wednesday the ladies played pottose.

Winners on the day were Lorraine Trewick, Trica Bamford, Marilyn Morrell and Janet Simmie with 24 nett from Lorna Wilson, Sherryn Peddersen and Joy Rasmussen with 34 nett.

After a fun day of golf the girls went to the Oasis for a lovely lunch and a good laugh.

Well done to our ladies pennant team, on April 8 Elmore played Mitiamo at Inglewood. They won 2/1 well done.

Yesterday they played Quarry Hill at Quarry Hill.

Club opening day was held on Sunday.

We were greeted by beautiful weather, a great crowd and the course looked in good condition, considering we haven’t had much rain.

Well done to our course curator and his team.

Our president Max Williams welcomed everyone to another season and welcomed our visitors from Lockington. Max also hit the first ball onto the course for the season.

Play for the day was stableford. Men’s winner was Mac Whittle with 22 points on a countback from Locky Mangan also with 22 points, who won nearest the pin.

Ladies’ winner was Lorraine Trewick with 17 points from runner-up Lorna Wilson on 16 points. Nearest the pin went to Janet Simmie.

Don’t forget everyone is welcome to come and play, Tuesday, Wednesday or Sunday. Come and have fun.