Team’s second big win

By Riverine Herald

Rich River


Tuesday, July 31

Leon Schroeter had the score of the day to win B grade from Barry McMillan by one point.

Peter Baldock continued his good form to win A grade and Gary Jones defeated Paul Boek in a countback for the C grade prize.

One hundred and twenty-two played the west course with 37 points, on a countback, winning a voucher.

A grade: 1st: Peter Baldock (39), 2nd: Ivan Kirkby (38), 3rd: Michael Willis (36).

B grade: 1st: Leon Schroeter (43), 2nd: Barry McMillan (42), 3rd: Andrew Beaumont (39).

C grade: 1st: Garry Jones (41), 2nd: Paul Boek (41), 3rd: Greg Brierley (40).

NTPs: 4th – George O’Sullivan, Nug Lister & Barry Kelly. 8th – Peter Baldock, John Dunne & John Adams. 13th – Ivan Kirkby, Roman Lewandowski & John Moore. 16th – Michael Willis, Andrew Beaumont & Clarke Taylor. Super-pin: Andrew Beaumont ($82).

Thursday, August 2

John Stratton eagled the last hole to shoot a one under par round in Thursday’s stroke event and win A grade. Des Gallagher easily had the best score of the day to win B grade and Travis Windridge took the C grade prize.

There were 143 golfers on the east course with nett 71, on a countback, winning a voucher.

A grade: 1st: John Stratton (69), 2nd: Michael Tyndall (72), 3rd: Craig Healey (72).

B grade: 1st: Des Gallagher (65), 2nd: David O’Dea (67), 3rd: Dave Edwards (68).

C grade: 1st: Travis Windridge (70), 2nd: Bill Holmfield (71), 3rd: Lindsay Brown (71).

NTPs: 3rd – Graham Mose, John Lane & Les Barned. 8th – Dave Kelly, Barry Callanan & Greg Murdoch. 13th – Brian O’Neill, Barry Callanan & Keith Jenkinson. 16th – Steve Presser, Peter Moon & Fred Harrison.

Eagles: 4th – Greg Murdoch, 18th – John Stratton. Super-pin: Nug Lister ($116).

Saturday, August 4

The Doug Riley Memorial Fourball Par event had 159 golfers on the east course. Plus six, on a countback, won a voucher. Gerry Allen and Glynn Davies combined beautifully to take the coveted event with a fine score of +10.

Steve Bird and Steve Manley were hot on their tail with +9.

A grade: 1st: Gerry Allen & Glynn Davies (+10), 2nd: Steve Bird & Steve Manley (+9), 3rd: Keith McCormack & Brian Suffolk (37).

NTPs: 3rd – Guy Galvin, Andrew Beaumont & Fred Harrison. 8th – Steve Morgan, Peter Colliver & Richard Jaworski. 13th – Rory Priddle, Brian Sharp & Paul Devitt. 16th – Peter Sargentson, Chris Boxtel & Darryl Telfer. Eagle: 11th – Harley Williams. Eagles Nest: Steve Morgan 8th - ($10). Super-pin: Matthew Beasley ($143).


Wednesday, August 8

The women’s Rich River Teams of Four event was played as part of an individual stableford round on the east course.

The team, comprising Mary Boek, Noeline King, Sue Jasch and Chris Kelly, were thrilled to win the shield back to back. Due to wet weather, a diminished field of 60 players contested the round.

A grade: 1st: Marg Mould (37), 2nd: Lyn Kingston on a countback (31), 3rd: Joy Kelly (31).

B grade: 1st: Sue Jenkinson (34), 2nd: Chris Kelly (33), 3rd: Georgie Azzopardi (32).

C grade: 1st: Kerry McLoughlan (37), 2nd: Kay Sargentson (34), 3rd: Ruth Turpin (33).

Super-pin: 8th: Susan Hull. Second Shot: 13th: Lyn Kingston. NTPs: 16th: A — Judi Lawler, B — Sally Hojnik, C — Ruth Turpin. The rundown went to 32 points.

Saturday, August 4

A par round was played on the east course on Saturday with 32 women in the field.

Results: 1st: Chris Fleming (+3), 2nd: Rita Freestone (+1), 3rd: Carol Eddy (square).

Super-pin: 16th: Karen Fitzgerald. NTPs: 8th: A — Carol Eddy, B — Jennifer Putna. The rundown went to -2.

Monday, August 6

Bleak conditions greeted the 35 players who contested a nine-hole stableford round on the east on Monday.

Division 1: 1st: Chris Kelly (21), 2nd: Georgie Azzopardi (20).

Division 2: 1st: Bernie Eade on a countback (24), 2nd: Vicki Shipp (24).

NTPs: Allie Seraphini. Second shot: Jill Flanagan. The rundown went to 17 points.

The next play day for Swaggers is at Hilltop on August 17 at 9am for 9.30 start.

Names to Lyn Bailey or list in locker room.