Back Nine golf report

By Riverine Herald

Back Nine

Lyn Seabourne and Dennis Jackman were the champions of the course in the previous week, scoring 28.

Runners-up were Ellen Banko and Len Grange with 33.

Men’s nearest the pin award was won on the sixth by Dennis Jackman; while the ladies nearest the pins were won by Carol Schultz on the fourth and sixth.

The men’s straightest drive was won by Norm Hodge, and the women’s straightest drive was taken out by Ellen Banko.

Rich River

Cool and blustery weather greeted players contesting a stroke round on the West course on Wednesday.

Division one was taken out by Glenys Smith on a countback with 73 nett, ensuring Carol Eddy placed second with 73.

Division two was won by Felicity Douglas with a nett 69 on countback, meaning Joy Adams settled for second.

Division three went to Ingrid Cockcroft with a nett 70, Ann McPherson placed second with 72.

Nearest the pins on the fourth for A grade was Lyn Kingston, and for B grade, Di Symons. Lyn Kingston claimed the second shot on the eighth.

Kerry McLoughlan won the super pin on the 13th.

A nine-hole event was played on the West back nine on Wednesday, with Stephanie Shine the winner with 17 stableford points. Runner-up was Lyn Kingston with 16.

Saturday saw a stableford round played on the West course with 28 women competing. Excellent scores were recorded.

Lee Boulton won the round convincingly with a fantastic 44 points, leaving Bernie Smith (40) and Marg Davison (36) second and third.

Lyn Kingston won the super pin on the 13th hole.

Monday saw 36 players contest a nine-hole stableford round on the West course, and Maureen Berg taking out division one with 20 points. Roma Bowman placed second with 19.

Division two went to Marg Holmfield with 22, and Bernie Eade second with 20.

Nearest the pins on the fourth were won by Susan Hull and Kay Devitt.


October 2 saw 166 players contest a fourball on the West course with Wayne Campbell and John Paterson combining perfectly to take the win with 51 points.

Roman Lewandowski and Peter Boek settled for second (50), while Tim Noar and Laurie Phillips (50) rounded out the podium.

Nearest the pins on the fourth were Peter Anderson, Chris Evans and Graeme Birch.

On the eighth it was Peter Baldock, Frank Severino and Greg Murdoch. On the 13th Stephen Presser, Brian Suffolk and Bruce Major, and an eagle was secured on the 16th by Tyson McCoomb. Super-pin was won by Chris Evans, who picked up $123.

Thursday’s huge field of 191 golfers played the West course with 37 points, on a countback, winning a voucher.

George O’Sullivan took the A grade honours with the consistent Brian Suffolk winning B grade. Colin Fanning had the score of the day in C grade to narrowly defeat Dean Zadow.

Rob Kilgour had a big win on the fourth with the superpin.

Nearest the pins on the fourth were Len Prior, Rob Kilgour and Ian Fisher.

On the eighth it was David Pearson, Mick Gibson and Peter Williams. On the 13th Alan Eacott, Gary Edwards and Merv Smith, and an eagle on the 16th was nailed by Blair Christie.

On the 17th hole it was Des Carey, Gary Edwards and Stuart Milgate closest to the hole, and the super-pin was won by Rob Kilgour, laying claim to $159.

Saturday saw the Privilege Cup played in beautiful conditions on the West course.

Ken Walter had a great day to win C grade and take the Cup. Big hitters filled the placings in A grade with Dave Kelly pipping Kirk Ardley for the top prize.

It was a three-way countback in B grade with Phil Hazelman edging out Darren Burr and Rob Kilgour.

A huge field of 182 golfers played the West course with 36 points, on a countback, winning a voucher.

A grade was won by Dave Kelly (41 points), B grade went to Phil Hazelman (38), and C grade went to Ken Walter (45).

Nearest the pins on the fourth were Austin Baker, Rob Kilgour and Glenn Kilgour.

On the eighth it was Blair Christie, Daryl Brown and Paul Boek. The 13th winners were David Pearson, Ray Kissell and Jack Keogh.

The super-pin was won by Chris Loton, who came out $165 richer.