Rich River golf

By Riverine Herald

Rich River


Tuesday, November 27

David Phillips and Coomealla visitor Lindsay Caspers had the scores of the day to take out C and B grades respectively in the stableford event.

Vice-captain Jock Watson had a great round to win the A grade major prize and Ken Aitken took home the super-pin jackpot on the fourth.

One hundred and seventy-two golfers played the west course, with 39 points on a countback winning a voucher.

A grade: 1st: Jock Watson (41), 2nd: Peter Hoskin (40), 3rd: John Bedford (39).

B grade: 1st: Lindsay Caspers (43), 2nd: Brian Suffolk (42), 3rd: Laurie Scott (42).

C grade: 1st: David Phillips (43), 2nd: Jeff Owen (42), 3rd: Brian Harland (42).

NTPs: 4th – Craig Grame, Barry Graham & Ken Aitken. 8th – Wayne Campbell, Bruce Rasmussen & Alan Curtis. 13th – John Bedford, Shayne Trigwell & Bob Thomas.

Eagles: 5 – Blair Christie.

Super-pin: Ken Aitken ($133).

Thursday, November 29

A full field contested a four ball best ball stableford event with Bruce Bryant and Frank Severino combining well to take the major prize.

One hundred and ninety-four played the west course with 44 points on a countback winning a voucher.

A grade: 1st: Bruce Bryant & Frank Severino (50), 2nd: Merv Smith & Ken Aitken (48), 3rd: Bruce Rasmussen & Des Gallagher (48).

NTPs: 4th – John Bedford, John Clohosey & Philip Loft. 8th – Steve Presser, Chris Boxtel & John Meincke. 13th – Col Masenhelder, Eric Grumont & Bruce Bryant.

Eagle: 17th – Chris Rice & Jock Watson.

Super-pin: John Bedford ($169).

Saturday, December 1

The weather and scores were really hot on Saturday with the Privilege Cup up for grabs.

Neil Edwards had a fine 43 points to take the Cup and the B grade win.

George O’Sullivan won A grade in a countback from John Bedford and Peter Bawden also won a countback over Wayne Young for the C grade major prize.

Daryl Telfer had his eye in on the par threes winning both the 4th and 13th.

One hundred and eighty-two played the west course with 37 points, on a countback, winning a voucher.

A grade: 1st: George O’Sullivan (40), 2nd: John Bedford (40), 3rd: Jock Watson (39).

B grade: 1st: Neil Edwards (43), 2nd: Murray Roberts (41), 3rd: AP Kuiper (40).

C grade: 1st: Peter Bawden (41), 2nd: Wayne Young (41), 3rd: Kevin Clarke (40).

NTPs: 4th – David Pearson, Roman Lewandowski & Darryl Telfer. 8th – Jock Watson, David Whytcross & Glynn Davies. 13th – Rory Priddle, Adrian Sanderson & Darryl Telfer.

Super-pin: David Pearson ($168).

Privilege Cup: Neil Edwards.


Wednesday, December 5

A large field of 132 women celebrated at the annual Christmas event on Wednesday.

Most arrived early for breakfast under the sails before taking part in a two person puttose.

It was a colourful scene with players, carts and buggies decked out festively.

Debbie Michael and Carolyn Smith were winners on the day with 58.

Second Heather Gunstone and Judy Murphy (60 on a countback.)

Dale Haw and Jan McGuinness were third (60).

Iris Hicks won the Super Pin on the 13th.

Nearest the Pins: A grade Maree Ciavarella C grade Colleen Lynch. No one in B grade managed to drive the 4th hole.

Second Shot on the 8th: Di Gallagher and Rhonda Huggins.

A delicious Christmas lunch was enjoyed in Tatalia.

Saturday, December 1

Twenty eight players turned out for a stableford round on the west course on Saturday.

Several high scores were recorded.

1st: Marg Davison with 40 points, 2nd: Rita Freestone (39), 3rd: Josie Kirkman (38).

The run down went to 35 on a countback.

Jennifer Putna won the Super pin on the 13th.

Nearest the Pins on the 8th: Division 1 Karen Fitzgerald Division 2 Sandy Harvey.

Monday, December 3

A nine hole Stableford event was played on the east’s front nine on Monday.

Results were impressive with several women scoring above 18 points.

Division 1: 1st: Marg OBrien 22 on a countback, 2nd: Susan Hull (22), 3rd: Helen Makin (20 on a countback).

Division 2: 1st: Julie Leahy (22), 2nd: Jill Flanagan (20), 3rd: Donna Weller (19 on a countback)

The rundown went to 19 on a countback.

GV Veterans Golf Report:

OUR much anticipated Christmas event was staged at Kialla Country Club on December 3 and was contested by 118 golfers.

Kensington Gardens were the generous sponsors.

Our championship winners in both A grade and C grade were also decided today as a tie-breaker was required to separate the top two performers over the initial three rounds (best two scores of three possible rounds).

GVVGA constitution and rules calls for a tie-break to be played over three holes and then if no winner sudden death.

In the A grade championship Joel Watson (Rich River) and John Keller (Hill Top) tied on 153 gross, with Joel clinching the decider.

It was a great day for Joel who also won the Kialla Golf Club raffle after being invited to draw the winning ticket.

In B grade President Ron Wilkinson (Shepparton) 173 gross scooted one shot clear of Peter Eade (Shepparton) and Barry Graham (Lockington) in the championship rounds.

Les Hall (Ky Valley) and Bill Padgett (Numurkah) tied on 192 gross in C grade, and Bill emerged victorious today.

Winners in today’s event were: A grade, Peter Eade, Shepparton, 42 stableford points; from Vin Edwards, Shepparton, 38 pts; B grade Leo Hartup, Kialla, 46 pts from Allan Newby, Numurkah, 43 pts; C grade Terry Allen, Kialla, 37 pts from Bill Holyman, Kialla, 36 pts.

Nearest the pin on the short 11th hole in A, B and C grade respectively was John Radiski (Deniliquin), Bob Wildes (Tatura) & Bill Holyman.

Down the line balls were awarded to John Radiski, Alan Williams, Stephen Piggott, Bruce Morris, Bernard O’Hare, Peter Curtis, John Keller, Graham Scott, Wayne Ferguson, William Green, Gary Hopcraft, Graeme North, David Shiells, Bill McKenzie, Freddo McMahon, Harold Rayner, Les Hall, Rolf Weber, Len Adams, Ken Harris, Ross Kirkham, Bruce Whebell, Ian Clarke, Barry Webber, Maurice Webb, Des Pentreath, Peter Lahiff, Dennis Murphy, Kevin Doherty.

Our next event at Parkland on January 21 is a 4BBB and will include the annual meeting so there is an early start of 8.30am assembly for a 9am tee.

Please consider and discuss the possibility of serving on the committee in 2019 and come prepared to submit your nomination.

Contact the secretary if you would like a nomination form sent out.

Membership cards for 2019 will be available for the annual subscription of $20.

Quickly following the AGM is the annual Central Challenge on 25/02/2019 hosted by Heathcote Golf Club.

This event is limited to 60 players from each association and there is no handicap restriction, first in and paid up ($20) secures a tee spot.

Back Nine

Men’s A: 1st: Norm Hodge (26), 2nd: Eric Qualman (20), 3rd: Jim Miller (18).

Women’s A: 1st: Pamela Reyment (18).

Men’s B: 1st: Trevor Stevens (17), 2nd: Steve Clover (16).

Men’s NTPs: 6th — Eric Qualman.

Women’s NTPs: 6th — Josie Kirkman.

Men’s Straightest Drive: Steve Clover.

Women’s Straightest Drive: Jenny Todd.