Finals hopes alive after big upset

By Deniliquin Pastoral Times

Deniliquin Bowling Club’s Division One side has kept their Campaspe Valley Bowls Division finals hopes alive with an upset win against Echuca on Friday.

Playing at home, Deni managed to win on two rinks to emerge winners by six shots; 70 to 64.

Lindsay Franklin, Paul Snare, Brenda Leetham and Fay Munnerley (s) led all day until Echuca scored a ‘five’ on the 18th end, to level the scores at 18-all.

Echuca won the next end to put them two shots up; however Deni rallied to score six shots over the last two ends to win by four.

Final score, Deni 24 to Echuca 20.

Toni Brooksby, Winnie Pattinson, Caryn Hillier and skipper Lyn Smith scored on 10 ends, including a ‘six’ on the 16th end and a ‘five’ on the 19th end.

The Deni team was unable to overcome their strong opposition however, going down by three shots.

Final score, Echuca 24 to Deni 21.

The rink of Graham Nisbet, Tony Danckert, Jenny Tonta and Linda Harris (s) were one shot down on the 23rd end, making the overall scores level at 64-all.

The home team rallied to score a ‘two’ and a ‘four’ over the last two ends to secure a five shot win.

Final score, Deni 25 to Echuca 20.

Division Three also hosted Echuca, finishing in nail biting style with a one shot win, 35 to 34.

Loris Yates, Glenys Chessells, Maureen King and Cheryl Bradley (s) played well in a tight battle to secure the win by shots.

Final score, Deni 19 to Echuca 16.

Lorraine Tasker, Aileen Kennedy, Chris Frampton and skip Robyn Little were behind all day; going into the last end at 18 to 14 and with the overall scores seeing Deni trail 34 to 33.

The pressure was on but the Deni quartet rallied to score two shots on the final end to go down by two on the rink; but hand Deni the overall victory.

Final score, Echuca 18 to Deni 16.

This week Division One travel to Rochester; leads cars leave the club at 7.30 am. Teams are as follows:

L Franklin, B Leetham, F Munnerley, J Grimshaw (s); T Brooksby, S Laing, C Hillier, L Smith (s); G Nisbet, T Danckert, J Tonta, L Harris (s).        

Division Three travel to Rich River, with leads cars leaving the club at 8:00 am. Teams are as follows:

L Yates, A Kennedy, J McArthur, C Bradley (s); N Murray, P Snare, M King, R Little (s).        

● ● ● 

Entry sheets are on the notice board for the B and C grade singles and pairs championships, and the open club pairs championship.

Please get your entries in as soon as possible so that these events can be played.

The club will be hosting the Women’s Country Carnival Pairs on March 31. 

Assistance is required from members to man the score boards.

A sheet will be placed on the ladies’ notice board for names of those interested in assisting.

The club is also seeking donations of jams, relish, chutney, cakes, slices, used books, jigsaws, craft items, knitted/crocheted items; anything worth selling for their trading table. Donations can be left at the club.