Simpson overcomes tough start

By Southern Riverina News


It was a great thrill to see a record 21 starters for our stableford medley on Thursday, July 23.

With the thermometer reading 3°C, and the hazards of thick fog, the third group were waiting to tee off, when we could see a player running back to the clubhouse.

Soon everyone realised it was Sally Simpson and though she was saying she had “forgotten her lunch”, she had gone down the fairway to discover her ball had gone out of bounds and had to start again.

While the next ball headed for the tree line as well, Simpson overcame the odds to finish as 18 hole winner on the day with 40 points.

Runner-up was Kath Williams on 38 points.

Congratulations to Sally and Kath, and everyone who braved the day.

The sun did come out eventually and it was perfect golf weather.

Nine hole winner on the day was Sara Ham.

Other Jerilderie golf results:

Saturday, 25 July, par medley:

Winner - Kath Williams +3, r/u Laurie Henery 2

Sunday, 26 July, stroke medley:

Winner - Zac Walsh 87 c/b, r/u Blair Henery 87.

Ball comp: Laurie Blackmore 82, Rodney Dowling 89.

Berrigan ladies

The ladies braved a very foggy morning to play a stableford event on Wedensday, July 22.

The winner on the day was Maria McDonell with 29 points.

Winner of the first nine points was Gail Browne (17).

The nearest the pin went to Judy Karakai and the lucky draw was Sandra Moar.

Today is another stableford event incorporating Country Championships.

Finley ladies

The Wednesday, July 22 SRN sponsored stableford event was won by Mary Polkinghorne with 32 points on a countback.

Ball winners were Kim McCaw and Janet Delmenico, both with 32 points, and Sharon Pyle (30).

Good luck to all ladies participating in the Club Championships over the next three weeks.

Round one of the Championships will be held today.


Tuesday, July 21, saw 26 ladies playing stableford fourball best ball with Kerry Conrad and Cheryl Hart the winning pair on 44 points.

In second place was Nola Whiteford and Robyn Conrick (43) on countback from Beverley Campbell and Jill Loversidge.

Wednesday July 22, saw 80 members playing stroke net with Division One going to Mark O'Brien on 70, the runner-up was Michael Cooper (71).

Division Two stroke was won by Kevin Waller (70) on countback to Tommy Keogh, who also finished on 70.

Division Three went to Mitchell Driver (61), runner-up was Clinton Knight (71).

Men's Gold winner was Ronald Eaton with (76) while Allan Penny (81) finished as the runner-up.

On Saturday, July 25, 41 ladies played par with Michelle Purtill taking out Division One with 2-up. Kaye Sutton followed behind on 1-up.

Division two saw Heather Aston the winner with -2 on countback to Di Mitchell.

Ladies Gold Winner was Mary McLean with -2.

Forty-eight members played par with Division One going to Benjamin Lucas (3-up). Runner-up Kevin Waller finished on 2-up.

Division Two was won by Allan Deluca (2-up), closely behind was Vene Mitchell (1-up).

Men's Gold winner was Allan Penny with -2.

Sunday, July 26, saw 18 ladies playing stableford with the win going to Petra Wilmot on 42.

Stableford on Sunday also saw 60 men playing with Division One winner Kevin Waller (39), edging out Paul Olsen (38).

Division Two was won by Steven Milner (39).

John Washbrook was the Division Three winner (39), with runner-up going to Graham Owen (33).

Men's Gold winner was Douglas McClelland (27).


It was Chick Braybon, with 37 points, who stepped up as the winner at Wednesday’s Men’s 18 hole stableford competition.

Ball competition winners were Simon Fuller (36), Paul Pinnuck (35), Doug Smith (34) and John Taylor (33).

Barry Fahey picked up the Matt Daniel Plumbing NAGA trophy.

At the Thursday Play 9 nine hole stableford competition, Justin Crowley came out on top with 18 points to claim the voucher.

Ball competition winners were Kim McCaw (17), Barry Fahey (17), and Ian Swain (16).

On Saturday, once again it was the ladies who led the way when the Hong Loch Restaurant stroke competition was played.

Kim McCaw with a brilliant 67 net easily picked up the ladies trophy.

Barry Wilson (74) took out the Men’s Division One trophy whilst Barry Fahey who carded 71 was Division Two winner.

Ball competition winners were Dave Cordell (74), Eric Dean (75), Grant Wilson (76), Marty Piggin (76), John Taylor (76), Leo McNamara (76) and Sharon Pyle (72).

Heather Daniel and Bob Ross claimed NAGA trophies.

On Sunday, the John Lacy Consulting stableford event was played.

Marty Piggin (38 points) claimed the Men’s Division One trophy and Eric Dean (36) was Division Two winner.

Joanne Dean made it a family affair when she claimed the Ladies trophy, finishing on 35 points.

Ball competition winners were Ryan Donkin (35), Barry Fahey (35), Beau Makkinga (35), Clinton Knight (35), Rob Daniel (34), Brett Shaw (34) and Linda Rendell (31).

At the weekend round one and two of the Men’s Championships will be played with stroke for ladies on Saturday and stableford on Sunday.


Sunday was the second Trade Day for the year and was sponsored by Berrigan Pharmacy.

Thirty-five players hit off from the fairways and greens with some competitive scores coming in.

Winners for the day were Matthew Whelan and Michael Curtin, with 45 points, after a countback from Alan Arnold and Paul McVicor.

Ball winners were Marianne Whelan and Sandy Moar (44), Joe Nicholls and Jed Towler (44) and Ed Morgan and Maria McDonnell (43).

NTP went to Peter Shand on the 2nd and Alan Arnold on the 17th.

Saturday's saw Judy Karakai (56-26-30) claim her first win since starting her golfing journey.

Ball winner was Matthew Whelan and Marianne Whelan.

Next Saturday golf will go back to 2pm start.

Sunday will be 12.30pm hit off and a stableford event. All welcome.