Campaspe golf

By Campaspe News


It was a John and Ray day for the Niners at Campaspe Golf over the past week.

John Oakley scored 54-17-36 to win from Ray Peake (55-15-40).

John claimed NTP on the 7th and the least putts with 11 while Ray had the straightest drive on the 9th.

It’ll be all hands on deck from now on, preparing the course for our tournament in three weeks time.

Once again there was no competition round for the ladies.


The club’s championships for men and ladies have been played over the last three weeks, with the champions decided on the best two of their three rounds.

Looking at the final results this new format produced interesting results, in particular the men’s divisions as two of the grades went to sudden death playoffs over three holes.

Jake Wright’s four shot lead over former champion Lee Hicks quickly became eight after Wright’s eagle on the first and solid birdie on the second.

However, Hick’s determination and brilliant short game saw him storm home to square the game after his third shot from over the back hit the flag on the 18th for a tap in par.

Wright’s birdie putt slid past the hole for both to finish on 155 over their two best rounds.

Holes 1, 2, 7, 8 and 9 were the designated for the sudden death playoff.

Wright’s long hitting provided the difference on the 7th hole where his short chip was rewarded with a birdie and Hicks had to settle for a par.

Treasurer Steven Malley took a handy six-shot lead in B grade after 88 in his second round, however Stephen Bubb showed why you should never give up especially in the 13-23 handicap range.

Bubb registered an 89 compared to Malley’s 95 with both recording a final score of 173.

Once again the 7th hole proved the difference when Bubb’s par was enough to claim victory from an unlucky Malley.

In C grade, Liam Keenan produced a final round 91 to storm home by 14 shots ahead of Richard Feuk.

Keenan was also the nett winner on 69 from Bubb (71) with Ap Kuiper, Hicks and Graham Willis the next best and ball winners.

Nearest the pin winners were Malley, Wright, Willis and William Dingwall.

Veteran golfers Graham Willis and Ap Kuiper are now scheduled to play in the club’s 2019 singles matchplay championship after Willis defeated Chris White on Saturday in a close match.

Marg Knight showed why she has won many events over her long playing career by adding another trophy and the club’s 2019 ladies championship after her two best rounds of 88 and 94.

She finished ahead of Louise Williams (95 and 90), while Jenny Major was the ladies handicap winner on nett 165.

Captain Lee Hicks reminds all golfers to keep the following dates free.

On Sunday August 18, the club will host the the popular St Joseph’s annual four-person ambrose event catering for all abilities.

All profits will be going to St Joseph’s College and the best contact is organiser Grant Shawcross.

On Sunday August 25, the club’s open 18-hole championship will take place.

This year, the men will have a choice between the longer blue course or shorter white course.

Both events will run at the same time, with assembly at 9.30am — contact captain Hicks for further details.

Both Tim Quinlan and Peter Anderson celebrated their birthday’s last week and while Quinlan provided the pizzas it was Anderson who took home the chocolates in Wednesday’s nine-hole stableford and count your putts with 25 points, 13 putts and nearest the pin.


A good field of ladies played for the Lorna Henderson Canadian trophy last Wednesday.

The winners were Phyll Macfarlane and Helen Hayes with a brilliant 96-30-65 ahead of Sherryl Jones and Kathy Connors.

It was terrific to see Helen back on the course after an injury-enforced layoff, and she was in fine touch on the putting surface with two bullseyes — the best for the day.

NTPs: A grade – Annette Brereton; B grade – Kathy Connors.

Golfers played a stableford round on Saturday for the Wedgie trophy.

Ian Maddison was the star of the day with an exceptional score of 45 points to win the trophy, as well as the Giddings Supermarket player of the day and plus B grade honours.

Jason Wakefield was also in excellent form and finished with the great score of 42 points and runner-up in B grade.

Jimmy Hodgens won A grade with the fine score of 40 points, his round highlighted by an eagle on the 2nd when he sunk the putt after two terrific shots.

Runner-up was Kevin Humbert who finished with 36.

The in-form Mark Lyons made it three consecutive wins in C grade thanks to his score of 38, with Blake Humbert runner-up on 36.

Yardstick balls for the next best scores: A grade – Grant Humbert 35; B grade — Darren Carnie 39, Ian Haines 37; C grade – Jacob Haines 35.

NTPs: 7th – Jason Wakefield; 5th, second shot – Terry Thomas (A), Ian Haines (B), Andrew Glatte (C); 2nd shot 18th for the 6-pack smack – Grant Humbert.

Spike’s longest drive on the 15th, sponsored by Hot ‘n’ Cold Plumbing: Trav Mancer (A), Ian Haines (B), Rohan Chugg (C).

Handicap matchplay quarter-final result: Jimmy Hodgens def. Kevin Humbert 4 and 3.

Digits competition: Andrew Glatte and Ian Haines def. Trav Mancer and Tom Scurrah 1-up, in a thriller.

A number of golfers travelled over to Wedderburn to play in their fourball tournament, with Ray Brereton and Mark Lyons combining well to take home the runners-up trophies.

Coming events:

Tomorrow: Bisque bogey. Duty: Kathy Connors and Jenny Holt.

Saturday, August 3: Par – Privilege Cup. Duty: Andrew Harris and Kevin Humbert.


On Tuesday last week, the chicken runners played stableford with Max Williams winning with 20 points from runner-up Wayne Goodyer on 18 points.

On Sunday, the ladies played stroke and count putts round 3.

Tanya Niven won with 78 nett from runner-up Marilyn Butcher on 84.

Good luck to all the ladies who are representing Elmore at the teams events and thank you for putting your hand up to play.

Don’t forget ladies we will be playing on Wednesday again as of August 7.

Sunday also saw the final round of the men’s championship.

Stuart Niven came out on top with a total score of 245 (84,83,78).

Harry Whittle (249) finished as runner-up ahead of Mac Whittle (259).

Darren Beecroft had a great day scoring 76-13-63 to win the day’s event.

He finished ahead of Stuart Niven (78-9-69).

NTPs: 6th and 18th — Anthony Tanner; 14th — Luke Price.

Next week the men will play stableford and the fourth round of the Rochester Tyres competition.


The men hit the course with gusto on Sunday for the first round of their championships.

The best off the stick score was M. Giorgianni with a 75, followed by F. Lee 82 and S. Newth 83.

In B grade the best scores came from S. Dyson (88) followed by Ian Hunter and Leon Laffy (91).

The best nett score for A grade was J. Carnie and D. Winchcomb with 71, while P. Evans (70) and I. Hunter (71) had the best scores in B grade.

The winner of Sunday’s competition was P. Evans with 94-24-70, and D. Winchcomb was second on a threeway countback.

NTPs: 4/13, second shot — P. Evans; 7/16 — L. Laffy.

Longest drive: Micos.

Leisa Evans made it a double for the Evans family taking home the ladies event with a score of 97-23-74 ahead of Louise Williams.

The Ladies winner made it a double for the Evans family with Leisa Evans winning with 97-23-74, from Louise Williams.

NTP: 7/16 — L. Evans.

Longest drive: Louise Williams.

Williams is still leading the ladies championship with one round to go.

Next week will see the men and women play the final round of the championships.

Williams is still in the lead for the ladies championship with one round to go.