Bowls report | August 11

By Campaspe News


Bowlers please note as of Thursday, August 7, social bowls is allowed on the B Green with a maximum of 10 players, two players per rink.

Social distancing, cleaning of the mat and kitty is mandatory.

The AGM was held on Tuesday, August 3 where reports were received and office bearers elected.

Congratulation to the new RBC Board which is Graham Willis (president), Jenny Major (vice-president), Greg Watkins (secretary) and Sam Watkins (treasurer).

Other members include Jane McCallum, Mick Ellis, Allan Benson, Beryl Elliott and Kevin Hall.

The greens committee is Darren Walles, Hedley Moon, Gavin Houlihan, Les Walles and Kevin Dobson.

The grounds committee is Anton Gusak, Jane McCallum, Marg Knight, Mal McCraild and John Boyd.

Public Officer is Greg Watkins, bar manager is Allan Benson, functions manager is Kevin Dobson, scribe is David Murray and webmaster is Sam Watkins.

The bar is no longer open on Monday and Friday nights.

The club is looking for new members with men, ladies and junior players all welcome.

Bowls coaching will commence in September.

For those interested people contact Marg Knight on 5484 3444 or 0438 843 444.


The game of scrounge continues to attract quality fields each Wednesday.

Last week, there were a few records registered with Ivan Hicks scoring 105 points to win rink 13 in a two horse race.

Neil Haines was next best.

On rink 11, Tony Hawley amassed 57 points to take the rink win from Phillip Cunnington on 54 in a close tussle.

Jerome Shaw rose to stardom after a dominant performance on rink twelve in scoring a mammoth 67 points and grabbing the chocolates ahead of Andy Harris with 36 points.

Due to the requirement for all bowlers to wear masks, it was sometimes difficult to recognise people at first glance.

At times Shaw bowled in a similar fashion to club-mate John Blair.

John van den Bosch collected the honours on rink fourteen with a well compiled tally of 51 points to hold out the consistent Jim Harris with 41.

Club president Ray Hanson was able to control rink 15 in amassing 51 points for victory ahead of Denise Gilmore on a total of 49 points.

Gilmore just ran out of ends.

The final rink was claimed by Lyn Snell after a clear case of near perfection to tally 58 points and finish well ahead of Tom Davis on 50 points.

With the announcement of stage 3 restrictions by the Victorian Government, bowling clubs are allowed only two persons per rink and ten persons per green.

This will make a competition very difficult to hold.

With this in mind the format next week will be 3-bowl singles in a round-robin form to allow a continuation of the popular attraction that we have enjoyed over previous weeks.

Starting time is 1.00pm - weather permitting.

The club wish to extend get well wishes and a return to health, to hard working members - Ian and Kath Palmer who are both recovering from illness.