Locals dominate junior football awards

By Andrew Johnston

FOOTBALLERS from the twin towns and surrounding areas have capped off a brilliant 2019 season at the Shepparton and District Junior Football League (SDJFL) and Goulburn Campaspe Junuior Football League (GCJFL) awards nights.

Three league best and fairest awards were claimed by local players, with Echuca's Callum Parsons claiming the Ken Keating Medal in division one of the SDJFL's under 16s competition.

Parsons claimed 17 votes to win the award from Shepp Notre's Jayden Dhosi on 14.

Teammates Noah Long (fifth, nine votes) and Corbin Anderson (eighth, eight votes) finished in the top ten.

Long also finished third in the MVP award, voted on by opposition coaches.

Echuca United's Max Childs claimed divison two's Scott Family Medal with 21 votes, edging out teammate Colby Campbell on 15 votes.

Teammate Brodie Lloyd (fourth, 12 votes) and Moama trio Levi Boys (fifth, 11 votes), James Bentley (seventh, nine votes), Khy Stovell (ninth, seven votes) and Echuca's Jake Dempster (eighth, eight votes) also featured in the top ten.

Childs also tied Tatura's Brayden George and Jaycob Kerambrun for the MVP of the divison on 18 votes, with United teammates Brodie Lloyd (second, 16 votes) and Colby Campbell (third, 15 votes) making the top five.

In the under 14s Owen Power Medal, Tom Evans of the Echuca Murray Bombers finished third with 24 votes, while Hugh Byrne of the Echuca Bombers finished fifth with 21 votes.

Echuca's Alan O’Neill polled 29 votes to finish second in the MVP.

Moama's Jayda Richardson polled 15 votes to finish second in the Scott Family Medal for the Youth Girls season, while Echuca's Madelyn Huismann polled 12 votes to finish fourth.

In the GCFJL, Leitchville-Gunbower's Oskar Smart polled 30 votes to win the u14s Keith Saddlier Medal, edging out Rochester's Charlie Palmer on 28 votes.

Moama's Archie Peat and Echuca United's Noah Schmedje finished equal eighth on nine votes.

Smart's club Leitchville-Gunbower was awarded Most Disciplined Club, while Moama claimed the division two lightning premiership under the watch of Coach of the Year winner Ben Hearn.

In the under 12s, Peter Gronow of the Echuca Bombers claimed the Umpiring Encouragement Award.

Echuca's Kate Carlile also claimed the league's administrator of the year award.