Golf report

October 07, 2017


The 39th Joy Bickford Rose Bowl event was played last week.

Golfers enjoyed glorious weather on Tuesday, September 26 and the course was in excellent condition.

Some terrific scores were returned before a delicious meal

Fourteen teams contested the Bowl, with players from Axedale, Bamawm, Belvoir Park, Bendigo, Calivil, Campaspe, Castlemaine, Drouin, Elmore, Mitiamo, Neangar Park, Quarry Hill, Rich River and Rochester.

Melva Howell, Joy Bickford’s daughter, has been trying to win the Bowl for a few years with various Rich River teams, and this year was finally the year.

Together with team members Sally Hojnik and Di Johnson, they combined brilliantly to score 123 points to win the Bowl.

It was a very special moment for all with Joy presenting the trophy to the absolutely delighted winning team.

Runner-up was from Elmore (Joy Rasmussen, Janet Simmie and Lorna Wilson) with an excellent 116, with another Rich River team (Lyn Kingston, Marion Whatley and Di Gallagher) three points back in third.

Individual winners: A grade: Lyn Kingston (Rich River) 40, c/b; runner-up Joy Rasmussen (Elmore) 40.

B grade: Sally Hojnik (Rich River) 45 (the days best score); runner-up Chris Pearce (Quarry Hill) 43.

C grade: Annette Holmes (Axedale) 41; runner-up Chris Turner (Bamawm) 35. Lockington members: Kathy Connors 39.

Nearest the pins: 3rd: Chris Kelly (Rich River); 17th: Jan Clymo (Calivil); second shot 9th: Joy Rasmussen (birdie). Ball comp: 39 Melva Howell, Di Johnson, Joan Hughes, Janet Simmie; 38 Debbie Bish (Axedale), Di Gallagher, Gayle Gerrish (Neangar Park); 37 Denise Pappin (Campaspe), Lorna Wilson.

There was more golf on Wednesday last week, with Pauline Humbert best-on-course for the stableford round with a fine score of 37 points.

Nearest the pin third shot 12th: Sherryl Jones.

The final of the 2017 Handicap Matchplay Championship has been decided, with the title going to Sherryl Jones, who defeated Annette Brereton.

There was a good turn-up for Saturday’s three-man ambrose event. Andrew Harris, Kevin Humbert and Grant Humbert combined brilliantly to return the day’s best scratch score of 58 (12 under par) and best nett score of 54.5.

Nett runners-up were Jeff Carnie, Blake Humbert and Darren Carnie with a solid 68-9.5-58.5, ahead of Terry Thomas, Steve Holt and Jayden Wright (59.5).

James Hodgens, Tim Staley and Matt Higgins were next best with 68-8-60.

Kevin Humbert had a day out winning four nearest the pins(9th, 13th, 17th and secondnd shot 11th for the six-pack smack). The others were won by Tim Staley (3rd), Jayden Wright (7th) and Phil Stanford (16th).

Spike’s Longest Drive on the 15th, sponsored by Hot’n’Cold Plumbing: A grade: Grant Humbert; B grade: Blake Humbert; C grade Matt Higgins.

Neither the Echuca CIH eagle’s nest on the third, nor Captain Terry’s yardstick prize on the 16th were won.

Upcoming events:

Today: Lockington Lions Club Golf Day 4BBB. Hit off from 11am.

Enquiries to Tom Scurrah on 0428 345 914.

Saturday, October 7: Novelty Day.

Sunday, October 8: Closing Day four person ambrose, any combination. Hit off from 11am.

Saturday, October 14: Presentation Night, 7.30pm. Bring and share casserole tea, special members draw.

Rich River

IT WAS a close result in the Fourball on Tuesday, September 26 with two shots separating the first 10 pairs.

Arthur Duke and John Moore came out on top with an excellent score of 48 stableford points.

Graham Mose had his eye in on the par threes with two nearest the pin wins and Geoff Crossman hit one very close on the par three sixteenth to win the super-pin.

There were 140 in the field on the east course with 46 points winning a voucher.

A grade:1st: Arthur Duke and John Moore (48), 2nd: Ray Carr and Nug Lister (47), 3rd: Bob Thomas and Barry McPherson (47). NTPs:3rd: Graham Mose, Ray Burgman and Ian Roy.

8th: Peter Anderson, Jim Wagstaff and Doug Biggs.

13th: Steve Presser, Bruce Richie and Gordon Jasch.

16th: Graham Mose, Geoff Crossman and Mick Mulvihill.

Super-pin: Geoff Crossman $103.

On Thursday, September 28, Steve Presser almost parred the course to win A grade.

A countback was required to separate all the placegetters in both B and C grades with Neil Edwards and Ian Roy winning their respective grades.

Chris Sanders hit three drives out of bounds on the fifth but redeemed himself later in the round when he hit his tee shot on the par three 16th to 30 centimetres, to pick up the super-pin.

There were 170 in the field on the east course with nett 70 winning a voucher. A grade:1st: Steve Presser (65), 2nd: Col Masenhelder (67), 3rd: Leigh Clifford (68).

B grade:1st: Neil Edwards (67), 2nd: Brian Suffolk (67), 3rd: Len Adams (67).

C Grade:1st: Ian Roy (67), 2nd: Greg Brierley (67), 3rd: Ken Walter (67).

NTPs: 3rd: Greg Cadd, Jack Crawford and Brian Harland. 8th: Peter Whitbourn, Alan Gavalakis and John Meincke. 13th: Ian Doak, Ross North and Les Hall. 16th: Allan McKinlay, Chris Sanders and Alan Hausler. Eagle 18th: Kirk Ardley. Super-pin: Chris Sanders $143.

On Saturday, September 30, there were morning and afternoon shot gun starts on the west course due to the AFL grand final.

The morning field consisted of 101 players and the afternoon field 11 players.

As the field only had 112 players there were two divisions set up.

Terry Goninon had the best score of 41 points for the day.

Division one: 1st: Terry Goninon (41 pts), 2nd: Craig Bessell (39), 3rd: Ian Yeo (39).

Division 2: 1st: Rob Merlo (39 pts), 2nd: Paul Boek (38), 3rd: Darren Jones (37).

NTPs: 4th: Stewart Mancer, Hayden Favaloro and Ian Young. 8th: John Bedford and Simon Putna.13th Peter Sargentson, Ron Meikle and Geoff Kelly.Super-pin: Wayne Eden $106.

Rich River women:

Josie Kirkman and Jan McGuinness combined well on Wednesday to win a two-person Ambrose event on the East course with net 67.

They were closely followed by Carol Eddy and Di Phillips who were second on a countback (67).

Marcia Spiers and Heather Berryman were third (68).The ball rundown went to 72.

The Nearest the Pins were contested on the 16th East.

A grade: Gloria Bennett and Deb Bawden

B grade: Pam Talbot and Alison McKiterick

C grade: Beryl Clack and Ann Wills

Susan Hull and Christine Ross won the second shot on the 13th.

The Super Pin was claimed by Liz McKinlay and Rosey Devlin.

Summer fourball pennant begins on Monday, October 9.

The two Rich River teams will meet at the station at 8am to play at Hill Top at 9.30am.

Ladies are also reminded of the AGM to be held on October 18 at 2.30pm.

On Saturday 25 players took part in a Stableford round on the West course.

A countback was required to determine the top placegetters with Sue Mulcahy the ultimate winner (35pts).

The runner up Joy Kelly (35). Ros Pellegrino was third (34).

The ball rundown went to 34 points. Nearest the pins were won on the eighth hole.

A grade: Heather Gunstone;

B grade: Chris Kelly.

Marg Davison scored the Super Pin on the 13th.

YMCA back nine

Saturday’s game was won by C. Peterson (45, 12, 33), while second place was split between J. Bennett (48, 14, 34) and B. Young (51, 17, 34).

M. Lizza rounded out the top three (45, 10, 35).

This week’s play was sponsored by Campaspe Kitchens.

BK’s golf tip for this week — don’t stay too long in the club house; happy wife, happy life.

More in Riverine Herald
Login Sign Up

Dummy text