Golf report

June 09, 2018

Sue Edwards is the proud winner of this year’s Rich River Golf Club Directors’ Trophy over 27 holes.

Rich River's Division 3 Team are winners of the Goulburn Murray Golf Association Winter Pennant.

Rich River


Tuesday, May 29

The welcome rain reduced the field to 145, but it did not stop Geoff Crossman having a fine round of 44 points.

He won B grade with Brian Guille winning C grade with an excellent 43 points.

Col Masenhelder won A grade from a couple of Jeff Ridge and Steve Presser.

There were 145 on the west course with 36 points on a countback winning a voucher.

A grade: 1st: Col Masenhelder (40), 2nd: Jeff Ridge (39), 3rd: Steve Presser (38).

B grade: 1st: Geoff Crossman (44), 2nd: Les Thomas (40), 3rd: Jeff Carnie (38).

C grade: 1st: Brian Guille (43), 2nd: Ray Hunt (39), 3rd: Tony Morgan (38).

NTPs: 4th – Dave Kelly, Trevor Ritchie & Bruce Pollock. 8th – Ron Magill, John West & Barry McMillan. 13th – Gary Bennett, Neil Edwards & Alex McCrae.

Super-pin: Trevor Ritchie ($113).

Thursday, May 31

An Irish 4Ball had teams of four play a stableford event.

The best score was taken on holes one to six, the two best scores on holes seven to 12 and the three best scores on holes 13 to 18.

Ninety points was the winning score by Tony Ciavarella, Shayne Trigwell, Mal Nicholls and Roger Stannard.

Peter Smith had the best individual stableford score of forty points.

There were 190 golfers on the west course.

A grade: Tony Ciavarella, Shayne Trigwell, Mal Nicholls and Roger Stannard, (90), 2nd: Jayden Dixon, John Clancy, Steve Presser and Graham Hodgson, (89), 3rd: George O’Sullivan, Des Carey, David Edwards and John Dunne, (88).

Stableford results: 1st: Peter Smith (40), 2nd: Stuie Sinclair (39), 3rd: David Morgan (39).

NTPs: 4th – John Stratton, Mick Gibson and John Paterson. 8th – Bob McKinnon, Murray Roberts and Peter Smith. 13th – Steve Presser, John Meincke and Paul Boek.

Eagle: Steve Morgan (16th).

Super-pin: John Stratton ($154).

Saturday, June 2

Gary Bennett won the Privilege Cup and the A grade competition with a fine score of forty-one stableford points.

Wayne Eden won a three-way countback for the major B grade prize and Glenn Douglas won C grade in a countback from Simon Cheong.

The “little master” on the par threes Steve Presser won his second super-pin for the year.

A total of 178 golfers played the west course with 35 points, on a countback, winning a voucher.

A grade: 1st: Gary Bennett (41), 2nd: Andrew Jacobs (39), 3rd: Mark Scholes (37).

B grade: 1st: Wayne Eden (38), 2nd: Bodie Chislett (38), 3rd: Ben Stevens (38).

C grade: 1st: Glenn Douglas (37), 2nd: Simon Cheong (37), 3rd: Roman Lewandowski (36).

NTPs: 4th – Ben Patten, Simon Locke and David Cockroft. 8th – Jonty Jeoffreys, Mark Lynch and Greg Murdoch. 13th – Sean Slattery and Mick Young.

Eagle: Adam McCrae (6th).

Eagle’s Nest 8th: Greg Murdoch ($15).

Privilege Cup: Gary Bennett.

Super-pin: Steve Presser ($164).

On Wednesday, the second round of the Rich River Club Championships over 54 holes was held.

In A grade Chris Fleming took the win with a nett 73, while Maree Ciavarella with 73 on a countback was second.

In B grade Lyn James with nett 71 took out first, while Christine Ross with 75 took second.

C grade went to Lorraine Bowman with 74, while Melva Howell (75) took second.

Nearest the pins on the West course, fourth hole, were: A grade Glenda Phillips, B grade Marg Davison, C grade Liz McKinlay. Jennifer Halloran scored the second shot on the eighth.

The super pin was won by Winnie Lavery on the 13th. Lyn James’ great score of 71 nett won her the fifth round of the Clarice Cheatley medal.

Bronze three division played a stableford round as part of the this year’s championship.

First was Kay Sargentson (38), second was Elaine Roberts (35).

And on Saturday a stableford round was played on the West course with 35 women competing.

First place was Lorraine Healey with 38 points. Second was Pam Heywood with 36.

Nearest the pins on the eighth were (A grade) Heather Gunstone and (B grade) Chris Kelly. Deb Morden won the super pin on the 13th.

On Monday 47 women participated in a nine hole stroke round on the East’s front nine.

In division one Marie Collins won with 35 net. Runner up was Ann McPherson with 37.

In the second division Liz Pollard won with 33 and Donna Weller was second with 34 on a countback.

Nearest the pin on the eighth was Susan Hull.

GV Veterans

The volunteers at Merrigum Golf Club put on another great day for the 78 veteran golfers that contested for the prizes on Monday, June 4.

Thank you ladies for spoiling us with cream scones in the morning and a lunch of soup with pressed toasted ham sandwiches.

Hill Top again produced the A grade winner with Peter Curtis, 43 stableford points way out in front of runner up Tom McConchie, Parklands on 36 points.

B grade went to Ron Dixon, Lockington, with 38 from Les Hall, Valley View with 34.

C grade winner was John Bunn, Hill Top on countback from Ian Clarke, Kialla with 39.

Nearest the pin was contested on the 162 metre 9th tee with Brian Sharp, Rich River, successful in A grade, Len Adams, Rich River in B grade, and Ian Clarke, Kialla, in C grade.

Ball run down included Andrew Wood, John Fuller, Glenn Evans, Graham Peat, John Bray, Bernard O’Hare, Len Adams, David Shiells, Robert Oliver, Tony Boreelli, Gary Hopcraft, Kevin Taylor, Ray Gourlay, Walter Tink, Will Mason, Bill Waite and Bill Holyman.

Our next regular event will be at Hill Top Golf Club, on Monday, June 25, 9.30am assembly, 10am tee.

Back Nine

What better way to start winter than with a round of golf?

Players took to the greens on Friday, with a lot of quality golf produced, sponsored by Olive Tree.


Men’s A: 1st: Norm Hodge, 2nd: D, Kirkpatrick.

Men’s B: 1st: Bill Turner, 2nd: Mike Malony.

Women’s A: 1st: Lorna Alchin.

Women’s B: 1st: Lyn Seaborn.

Men’s NTP: 6th: Norm Hodge.

Women’s NTP: 4th: Jenny Todd, 6th: Lyn Seaborn.

Men’s Straightest Drive: Trevor Stevens.

Women’s Straightest Drive: Josie Kirkman.

More in Riverine Herald
Login Sign Up

Dummy text