Riv. Murray win state title

By Deniliquin Pastoral Times

Four Deniliquin footballers have helped Riverina Murray win the NSW Combined High Schools Sports Association Secondary Australian Football Boys Championship at Sydney yesterday.

Deni High students Charlie Hillier, Haydn Mowat, Darcy McManus and Raymond Murphy all competed in the state titles from Tuesday to Thursday this week, with their Riverina Murray side victorious in the grand final.

Murray took on the Combined Catholic Colleges Northern side in the decider, scoring a six point win in a tight encounter.

The quartet competed against the state’s best Under 15s footballers, with all vying for a spot on the NSW team that will compete at the School Sport Australia Championships in Tasmania from July 27 to August 3.

The Riverina Murray side went through the NSW competition undefeated, managing dominant wins on Tuesday to finish on top of Pool C.

Day one saw the Murray side down Riverina South West by 38 points before knocking off Sydney by 37 points later that day.

Day two saw the Deni students come up against the Combined Independent Schools team twice, defeating them by 14 points on both occasions.

The first win saw Riverina Murray finish as the first seed of the competition with the second victory booking them a spot in the grand final.

While the Deni footballers all played well to help secure the grand final win, it was Finley’s Shadeau Brain who claimed the medal for best Murray Riverina player in the competition.

All four students were waiting to hear if they had made the state side before the Pastoral Times went to print yesterday.