Daniel delighted with Medal win

By Southern Riverina News


With a week of weather better suited to sitting by the fire there were handy numbers who braved the conditions to play the ancient game of golf at Finley.

Rob Daniel stood tall at the Eagle I July Monthly Medal stroke event on Sunday.

Daniel carded 68 net to claim the net medal win as well as the daily men’s Division One trophy and the Cock of the Walk title.

Paul Beaver with 70 net took the Division Two trophy, while Darren John with 81 off the stick claimed the Scratch Medal.

Janet Delmenico had a big day out. With 95 off the stick and 70 net she scooped the pool by taking the Ladies daily trophy, Scratch Medal and Net Medal; and with 29 putts, the Ladies putting trophy.

NTP on the 18th went to Norm Pyle.

Ball competition winners were Leo McNamara (73), Grant Wilson (74), Darren John (76), Matt Daniel (77) and Anne Wood (77).

Barry Fahey stepped up for the day’s McDonald’s NAGA Trophy.

Marty Piggin with 37 points stepped up to claim the Carl’s Catch of the Day trophy at Wednesday’s men’s stableford competition.

NTP on the 18th was Paul Pinnuck.

Ball competition winners were Barry Fahey (34) and Chick Braybon, Paul Pinnuck, Bill Mansell and Darren John who all had 32 points.

The Matt Daniel Plumbing NAGA Trophy was claimed once again by Rand Wilson.

At the Thursday Play 9 Stroke Competition, Rand Wilson with 40.5 net came out on top.

Ball competition winner was Barry Fahey on 44 net.

Stableford was played for the Country Club Hotel Motel trophy on Saturday when Bill Mansell with 38 points stepped into the winner’s circle for the men’s trophy.

Kellie White with 32 points took out the ladies trophy.

Janet Delmenico was NTP on the 13th. Ball competition winners were Rand Wilson and John Taylor on 33 and Janet Delmenico on 30 points.

At the weekend Saturday is President and Captain’s Day and stroke will be played on Sunday.


It was a very cold weekend for golfers. A social round was played on Saturday by the die hards of golf.

Sunday was stableford and some brave golfers took to the course which had everything weather wise.

Matthew Whelan finally overcame Joe Nicholls’ fine form to come in with 37 points edging Joe out with 36 points. Ball winner was Chris Kelly with 32 points. It was great to see so many junior players enjoying the course.

Next weekend is stroke with tee off at 12.30pm.

Thanks to the volunteers who on Monday had a successful working bee after our wild weather caused damage with fallen trees.

Many hands make light work.

Finley ladies

This week’s ladies golf was a two-person ambrose sponsored by Beth & Kellie White.

Winners of the Wednesday event were Heather Daniel and Janet Delmenico (11.75) 76.25 with runners-up being Sue Simpson and Marion Ayres (12) 77.

NTP on the 18th was Chris Shaw.

Shaw also claimed the Longest Drive on the 1st with the 10th going to Kerrie Carlon.

Ball winners were Margaret Lemsing and Kerrie Carlon (78.25), Julie O’Brien and Annie Wood (78.50).

Kellie White and Chris Shaw have qualified to play at Wagga Wagga Country Golf Club in November in two-person ambrose, with the winners going on to Bonville.


The ladies played 4BBB stableford on Tuesday, July 9, with the winning pair being Barbara Clark and Jenni Corcoran on 43 points.

In second place was Nola Whiteford and Margaret Varley 39 points.

NTPs went to Carmel Butcher 2nd, Susan Papas 17th.

Pro pin was split between Di Mitchell and Rhonda Constable.

Wednesday saw the men playing 4BBB stroke from the white markers, with the winning pair being Carl Van Zeist and Sean Gledhill with 63 after a countback from Phillip Dungan and Mark O’Brien.

NTPs went to Sean Gledhill 8th, Carl Van Zeist 18th. Pro pin went to Kevin Cooper $81.

Men’s 4BBB Gold winners were Ron Eaton and Laurence Rickard with 67.

A four person stableford medley best three scores was played on Saturday.

The team of Leanne Marshall, Peter Bolt and Michael and Kevin Cooper took the win with 119 points.

In second place was Neil Bull, Carmel Butcher and Mark and Julie O’Brien, who had 111.

NTP went to Sally Schott 2nd, Graeme Brierley 2nd, Paul Olsen 17th.