Barooga Bowls Club notes

By Cobram Courier

If you thought last weekend's Barooga bowls was nerve-rattling, what about this week?

Friday pennant division one won by two shots against Numurkah. Division two won by 10 shots against Numurkah Golf. This means both Friday teams play this week in the preliminary final.

On Saturday, all four divisions played and in a very good result for the club three divisions were victorious with only division three missing out by three shots.

Division one and division four go straight into the grand final in a fortnight's time.

Division one won by one shot and division four playing at the same venue also won by one shot. Division two won by 10 shots and will play next week against Picola for the right to play Cobram in the grand final.

In division one Barooga will play the winner of Numurkah Golf vs Wunghnu. In division four Barooga will play the winner of Berrigan vs Cobram.

Venues for Friday pennant and division two Saturday pennant will be advised to all members as soon as venues are known.

All in all it was a very successful weekend for the club, with five out of six teams still in the finals race and two teams now secure in the grand final to be played on Saturday, February 29.

With this in mind, it is important for players to attend training at every opportunity, especially on Wednesday at 4.30 pm.

No results this week from the trade day held last Thursday, and there were not enough players to play Keith's Friday as everyone is busy with the finals.

The club's coach, Ray Emerson, won the group singles last week to finish now as one of the top 16 in the state. The club wished him well in his next challenge.

Men's 100 up, which is the final men's event for the year, needs numbers — so get your name in for that. First round is on March 15.

Last week's question: If, before a bowl has been played by each team, a player notices that the wrong team has delivered the jack, what happens?
Answer: The jack is returned and the correct player delivers the jack.

This week's question: If an umpire is measuring for shot and accidentally moves either the jack or bowl, what happens?