Reshuffle sees new ministers to be sworn in

author avatar
Fresh look: Premier Daniel Andrews’ new ministry will be sworn in on Monday, June 27. Photo by AAP Photo

Jacinta Allan will be sworn in as Victoria’s Deputy Premier and Labor members will step up to join the ministry following a reshuffle prompted by a quartet of senior ministerial resignations.

Member for Eastern Victoria Harriet Shing takes on the crucial portfolios of water, regional development and equality.

Ms Shing has been in Parliament since 2014 and was serving as parliamentary secretary for water.

State Member for Pascoe Vale Lizzie Blandthorn will become the Planning Minister and also take on responsibility for government business in the Legislative Assembly as Leader of the House.

Member for Bundoora and former Speaker Colin Brooks will be Child Protection and Family Services Minister and Disability, Ageing and Carers Minister.

Member for Oakleigh Steve Dimopoulos becomes Tourism, Sport and Major Events Minister and Creative Industries Minister.

Member for Carrum Sonya Kilkenny takes on the corrections, youth justice, victim support and fishing and boating portfolios.

The appointments bring the number of women in the Victorian Cabinet to 14, more than any other Australian jurisdiction.

As the most experienced minister in the cabinet, Ms Allan will add the Commonwealth Games Delivery to her responsibilities, while Shaun Leane will work with local communities as Commonwealth Games Legacy Minister, ensuring the Games leave a lasting positive impact across the state, with a focus on social enterprise and local jobs and procurement.

Deputy Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council Gayle Tierney will add agriculture to her existing responsibilities for training and skills and higher education.