July Sportstar 2019 nominees

By Riverine Herald

Congratulations to footballer Harley Reid and cricketer Todd Murphy who are the 2019 Sportstar of the Year July nominees

Tongala young gun Harley Reid has followed in the footsteps of some of the game’s greats after kicking his 100th goal for the season last month.
Reid, 14, brought up the milestone against Congupna in a game where he kicked seven goals while also pulling on the opposition’s colours in the third term.
“Last year I think I kicked about 45 or 50 goals so it felt really good to make it 100 this year,” Reid said.
Since then, Reid has continued on his record breaking streak going onto kick the most goals in a single Murray Football League under 14 season – beating the previous record of 117.
Impressively, Reid doesn’t just kick plenty of goals in his own age group, also stepping up to play under 17s on a weekly basis where he has kicked 20 goals for the season.
“In the 17s I do the same and I really enjoy the challenge of playing bigger and older guys,” he said.”
Reid has also featured in one of the Murray League’s interleague teams earlier in the year.

Moama cricketing product Todd Murphy is beginning to spin his way to the top after an impressive trip to Queensland with the Australian under 19 cricket team in July.
After missing the first two games of the series due to injury, Murphy made his presence felt in his second game after taking 3/26 – tearing through New Zealand’s middle order.
‘‘To do well against some high quality cricketers is always pleasing,’’ Murphy said.
“You always want to test yourself against the best and the tour allowed me to do so. I’m really pleased with how it went because it is certainly going to help with my development.”
Murphy’s performances certainly didn’t go unnoticed after he was selected in an Australian development team to tour India this month.
He is set to play alongside fully-fledged internationals on the sub-continent.
Murphy is now aiming to be selected in the Australian under 19 team for the World Cup set to be held in South Africa next year.