Australia Day awards finally held

Moira Shire Citizen of the Year Deb Fowler with Deputy Mayor Peter Lawless and Cr Ed Cox.

The 2022 Moira Shire Australia Day Awards were held on Thursday, April 28 after being rescheduled from the usual time slot in January due to pandemic health restrictions.

There were a number of Yarrawonga nominees who all deserve to be congratulated - Andrew Mott, Ross Mulquiney and Joyce Torpy nominated for Citizen of the year, Daniel Herrod nominated as Young Citizen of the year and the Terminus Hotel ANZAC Day 2UP nominated for Community Event of the year.

Kotupna's Deb Fowler was awarded Citizen of the Year due to her volunteer work running the Bohollow Wildlife Shelter.

She is also the manager of the Numurkah Community Learning Centre and a voluntary Community Visitor with the Office of the Public Advocate, a volunteer Communications Officer with the Kotupna CFA plus a volunteer cook for the Community Christmas Dinner program.

Moira Shire Mayor Libro Mustica said it was vitally important to hold the celebration, despite the lateness, to honour and highlight the valuable contributions to the community each nominee has made.

“Council received 39 nominations across six award categories – Arts, Culture and/or Environment Project; Community Organisation; Community Event; 2022 Junior Citizen; 2022 Young Citizen; and 2022 Citizen of the Year,” Cr Mustica said. “On behalf of council I congratulate the people and projects nominated for these awards, they showcase the many strengths of local communities across the shire.

“I am overwhelmed by the calibre of our dedicated volunteers and community members.

“The past 12 months continued to be trying, with our communities still dealing with the COVID-19 pandemic and the restrictions and limitations this caused and I believe it is more important than ever to recognise our communities’ efforts and achievements.

“Without the Australia Day Awards many of these groups, organisations and individuals would go unrecognised.”

Cr Mustica said each nominee was assessed by a panel of judges who praised the calibre of the nominations.

Other 2022 Moira Shire Australia Day award winners were:

Young Citizen of the Year – Lachlan Ross from Katamatite.

Junior Citizen of the Year - Grear Wylie from Cobram.

Community Event of the Year - Cobram Secondary College Anzac Day 2021.

Community Organisation of the Year - Cobram Community Cinema Inc.

Arts, Culture and/or Environmental Project of the Year - Picola and District Improvement Group.