Golf Report | January 17

By Riverine Herald

Rich River


Tuesday January 7

Whatever Terry O’Burtill had for dinner Monday night will now be served at everyone’s house after his astonishing 49 points in C grade.

Brian Guille can consider himself a little stiff after being beaten by two with a huge 47 points.

David Whytcross reaped the rewards in A grade after his meticulous training preparation as did Ian Yeo in B grade.

A total of 199 golfers played the east course with 38 points on a countback winning a voucher.

A grade: 1st: David Whytcross (44), 2nd: Stephen Edwards (42 c/b), 3rd: Travis Patten (42).

B grade: 1st: Ian Yeo (44 c/b), 2nd: Keith Jenkinson (44), 3rd: Stephen Bird (43).

C grade: 1st: Terry OBurtill (49), 2nd: Brian Guille (47), 3rd: KD Martin (44 c/b).

NTPs: 3rd — Steve Jones, Colin Short and Terry OBurtill; 8th — Michael Gunther, Craig Opie and Ron Johnson; 13th — Raymond Carr, Barry Kelly and Bob Peters.

Super-pin: 16th — Stuie Sinclair $162.

Eagle: 5th — Steven Cook.

Thursday January 9

Malcolm France fried the field with his scintillating 45 points in C grade.

Patrick Falconer was soaring high after his countback win in B grade and the summer of Aaron continues on in A grade.

A total of 209 golfers played the east course with 38 points on a countback winning a voucher.

A grade: 1st: Aaron Loader (41), 2nd: Steve Jones (40 c/b), 3rd: Neville Speight (40 c/b).

B grade: 1st: Patrick Falconer (44 c/b), 2nd: David Borthwick (44), 3rd: John Beattie (43).

C grade: 1st: Malcolm France (45), 2nd: Robert Jefferson (41 c/b), 3rd: Gordon Jasch (41 c/b).

NTPs: 3rd — Aaron Loader and David Long; 8th — John Stratton, Ted Fordham and Bill Ramsay; 13th — Aaron Loader, Keith Jones and Bruce Bryant.

Super-pin: 16th — Dieter Zeissner $180.

Eagle: 5th — Ben Patten.

Saturday January 11

An explosive Glenn Rogers rose to the top of the field to claim A grade.

Simon Cheong held off the consistent Trevor Moody in B grade and Craig Peterson was far too good for C grade.

Stephen Morgan earnt a plump super-pin with a lovely shot on the 16th.

A total of 209 played the east course with playing to par on a countback winning a voucher.

A grade: 1st: Glenn Rogers (+6), 2nd: Harley Williams (+4 c/b), 3rd: Ash Weldon (+4).

B grade: 1st: Simon Cheong (+5 c/b), 2nd: Trevor Moody (+5), 3rd: Trevor Mellington (+4 c/b).

C grade: 1st: Craig Peterson (+5), 2nd: Robbie George (+3), 3rd: Robert Casey (+2 c/b).

NTPs: 3rd — Glenn Rogers, Kade Merlo and Tony Freeman; 8th — Colin Masenhelder, Geoff Burke and Ian Phillips; 13th — Shane Gloury, Mark Lynch and Ian Phillips.

Super-pin: Stephen Morgan $191.

Eagles: 5th — Glenn Rogers; 11th — Peter McKechnie.


Wednesday January 15

The A grade women pulled out some great scores on a smoke filled, hot windy day.

In all, 73 ladies competed in a stableford round on the east course with the run down going to 36.

A grade: 1st: Dianne Stewart (39 c/b), 2nd: Dale Haw (39), 3rd: Margaret Young (38).

B grade: 1st: Karen Evans (35), 2nd: Toni Beck (34 c/b), 3rd: Ingrid Cockcroft (34).

C grade: 1st: Kay Sargentson (35), 2nd: Cheryl Watson (34), 3rd: Vicki Kelly (31).

Chris Fleming won the super-pin on the 8th hole.

NTPs: 16th — A grade: Miranda Turner; B grade — Juvena Brown; C grade — Vicki Kelly.

Saturday January 11

A total of 35 ladies played a par competition on the east course.

Vicki Kulbars was a clear winner for the day.

The rundown went to -4.

1st: Vicki Kulbars (+5).

2nd: Liz McKinlay (-2 c/b).

3rd: Heather Berryman (-2).

Super pin was won by Bernie Smith on the 8th hole.

A grade nearest the pin was won by Karen Mahady and B grade by Joy Adams on the 16th hole.

Monday January 13

A nine-hole or 18-hole option was offered to the Monday ladies for a par competition on the east course.

A total of 19 ladies opted for 18 holes and 23 for nine.

Mary Moss, with the help of a ghost, shone with a great score of +5.

18-hole winners: 1st: Julie Leahy (-1 c/b), 2nd: Susan Hull (-1 c/b), 3rd: Robyn Dyson (-1 c/b).

9-hole winners: 1st: Mary Moss (+5), 2nd: June Mills (+3), 3rd: Lorraine Harrison (+2 c/b).

Nearest the Pin for both fields was won by June Mills with second shot won by Deborah Quittner.

Ladies please enter your name for opening day on February 12 — list is in the locker room.

GV Veterans

Season 2020 will open at Kyabram Parkland Golf Club on Monday, January 20 with an early start of 8.30 am assembly for a 9am tee.

If you are a new member, or have not already renewed your subscription, please arrive a few minutes earlier to complete the registration.

Having the correct denomination will also speed things up ($20 pa).

We welcome new members at any time and to nominate you must have attained the age of 55 years, be an amateur golfer, a member of a golf club affiliated with Golf Victoria, or the golf controlling body of another state of Australia, and have a current handicap.

We pride ourselves on having an efficient registration system and new members can help by completing a nomination form on arrival or by writing your name, GolfLink number, address, phone number and email address on a piece of paper to hand to the registrar.

The AGM will be conducted at the conclusion of play and lunch.

The meeting will go most efficiently if you have already considered serving on the committee for 2020 and forwarded or handed a nomination to the secretary prior to commencement of the meeting.

You may nominate yourself, but if nominating a colleague for any position you must obtain their signature of endorsement.

Office bearers for 2019 include president Ron Wilkinson, vice president Kevin Stone, secretary Rolf Weber, treasurer Max Dawber, captain Ron Smith, vice captain John McHale.

The committee comprises Bill Chilcott, Rex Howell, Mel Lusher, Jim Rae, and immediate past president and delegate to VVGA Graham Scott.

A presentation of a championship t-shirt will be made to our 2019 champion in each grade, congratulations again to John Keller, Allan Newby, Shane Pollock and Lawrie Steward.

Our annual Challenge with Central District will be hosted by Shepparton Golf Club on Monday, February 24 at our summer assembly time.

The field is limited to 60 players from each district and there are no handicap restrictions.

Bookings will open at Parkland, and there are limited opportunities to confirm your entry, first in and paid up ($20) secures a spot.