Golf report | July 31

By Riverine Herald

Rich River


Tuesday, July 21

Fantastic scores were had by a number of golfers for the stroke maxx event.

C grade had a great battle going on with Forrest and Steele constructing solid rounds over Barned.

Beaumont tiled over Carr and Ridge in A grade, whereas only a countback could separate Daryl, Bruce and Brian in B grade.

A total of 173 golfers played the west course with nett 75 on a countback, winning a voucher.

A grade: 1st: Andrew Beaumont (nett 70), 2nd: Raymond Carr (nett 72 c/b), 3rd: Jeffrey Ridge (nett 72).

B grade: Daryl George (nett 71 c/b), 2nd: Bruce Pollock (nett 71 c/b), 3rd: Brian Suffolk (nett 71).

C grade: 1st: John Forrest (nett 69), 2nd: Ray Steele (nett 70), 3rd: Les Barned (nett 71).

Thursday, July 23rd

With the bridge now blocked to non-essential Victorians, 93 NSW residents had the west course to themselves with 32 points, on a countback, winning a voucher.

Greg Norwood was in scintillating touch, slamming home 37 points just shading the ever-consistent Bedford.

Jack Crawford won a tightly contested B grade and Colin Fanning won C grade from the awesomely named Max Beard.

A grade: 1st: Greg Norwood (37), 2nd: John Bedford (36), 3rd: Peter James (35).

B grade: 1st: Jack Crawford (34 c/b), 2nd: Alan Williams (34), 3rd: Richard Douglas (33 c/b).

C grade: 1st: Colin Fanning (36), 2nd: Max Beard (35 c/b), 3rd: Brian Guille (35).

Saturday, July 25

B grade produced some outstanding golf on Saturday with the quickly improving Phil Hubbard and the explosive James Scambler both registering 40 points.

David Foskett and Luke Keogh also had admirable rounds to be the leaders of A grade, whilst Dean Zadow was far too good for the rest of C grade.

Nathan Laffy had a moment to cherish after eagling the 17th.

A total of 115 golfers played the west course with 32 points on a countback, winning a voucher.

A grade: 1st: David Foskett (37 c/b), 2nd: Luke Keogh (37), 3rd: Chris Parsons (36 c/b).

B grade: 1st: James Scambler (40 c/b), 2nd: Philip Hubbarb (40), 3rd: Keith Jenkinson (37).

C grade: 1st: Dean Zadow (38), 2nd: Paul Boek (36), 3rd: Jim Bertram (33 c/b).

Eagle: 17th — Nathan Laffy.


Monday, July 20

A nine-hole stroke max and 18-hole stroke competition on the east course was held on Monday.

The nine-hole competition had 19 entrants, the run down went to 39.

Overall winners: 1st: Jenny Kirkpatrick (35), 2nd: Lorraine Healy (37 c/b), 3rd: Gill Crawford (37).

The 18-hole competition had 12 entrants.

Overall winners: 1st: Josie Kirkman (75), 2nd: Sally Gough (76).

Wednesday, July 29

A stroke competition on the west course saw 45 ladies play as the run down went to 73.

The overall winner was Karen Evans on 68.

A grade: 1st: Margaret Young (69), 2nd: Dale Haw (70), 3rd: Carol Evans (71).

B grade: 1st: Karen Evans (68 c/b), 2nd: Anna Nicholas-Martin (68), 3rd: Rita Freestone (71).

The Saturday competition is now a mixed event.

Back 9

Men’s A grade: 1st: Murray Osbourne (nett 39 c/b).

Women’s A grade: 1st: Winnie Lavery (43).

Men’s B grade: 1st: Dennis Jackman (35), 2nd: Steve March (36).

Women’s B grade: 1st: Pam Reyment (43 c/b).

Men’s NTP: 6th — Arie S.

Women’s NTP: 4th — Lorna Alchin.

Straightest drive: Men — Trevor Stevens; Women — Pam Reyment.


It was a beautiful day on course for the first round of our ladies and men’s championships.

The course is in great condition and it was great to see almost 40 golfers on course.

Winner of the ladies competition with a score of 86-15-71 was Lou Williams with runner-up Lyn Kingston on 90-16-74.

Longest drive: Leisa Evans.

Nearest the line: Louise Williams.

NTPs: 7/16 — Lyn Kingston; third shot 5/14 — Louise Williams.

Lou Williams is leading the ladies A grade championship with 86 and Anita Ward is leading the ladies B grade championship with 97.

Winner of the men’s competition with a great score of 71-8-63 was Sam Newth with Paul Evans only one shot behind with a score of 83-19-64.

Longest drive: Todd Louttit.

Nearest the line: Andrew Marr.

NTPs: 7/16 — Michael Giorgianni; 8/17 — Andrew Cochrane; second shot 4/13 — Graham Turner.

There is joint leaders for the men’s A grade championship with Michael Giorgianni and Todd Louttit both parring the course with a fantastic score of 68.

The leader of B grade is Paul Evans three shots ahead of Shane Dyson and leading the C grade is Frank Coonerty two shots ahead of Spencer Broom.

Next week is the second and final round of championships for both the ladies and the men — good luck to all.


Last Wednesday, the ladies played the president against captain event, with the result a tie, 2.5 wins each.

Winners for the president’s team were Carolyn Mitchell and president Phyll Macfarlane, while winners for the captain’s team were Annette Brereton and captain Pauline Humbert.

The other match between Helen Hayes and Sherryl Jones was halved.

NTPs: A grade — Sue Harris; B grade — Phyll Macfarlane.

Steve Holt was best on course again on Saturday for Saturday’s par event, played in glorious winter weather.

With a score of +1, he won the Giddings Co Player of the Day voucher as well as the Privilege Cup, all on a countback from Mat Dennis and Ron Dixon.

Mat Dennis was runner-up in A grade, but left lamenting after he lost the last three holes.

Stuart Newton was next best in A grade with -1.

B grade honours went to Ron Dixon (+1), from Travis Mancer and Kahl Oliver (-1).

Ball comp winners on a countback from Ian Maddison and Jeff Carnie.

Ian’s round was highlighted by a scorching start with birdies on the first two holes.

Tom Scurrah (-1) won C grade from JD Wright (-2) and Tony Brooke (-4).

NTPs: 17th — Kahl Oliver; second shot 5th — Andrew Cochrane (A), Colin Bacon (B); second shot 18th for the 6-pack smack — Kahl Oliver.

Spike’s Longest Drive on the 15th, sponsored by Hot ‘n’ Cold Plumbing: Stuart Newton (A), Blake Humbert (B), JD Wright (C).

Lockington golfers travelled to Black Culvert on Sunday for the annual Cec Parsons Memorial Shield event and the excellent field of 57 golfers enjoyed magnificent weather and the course in super condition.

As the early scores started coming in, it looked promising for the Locky team to score a shock win.

The Rochy golfers in the final groups finished strongly however to ultimately earn a comfortable victory to Rochester, 533 points to 502 (best 15 individual stableford scores to each club).

Gary Milligan was best of the Locky golfers with his score of 40 points, 3rd best score of the day.

Others to play well and win a ball included Brett Stone, Trav Mancer, Ron Dixon, Jason Wakefield, Matt Higgins and Will Hardess.

Upcoming events

Wednesday, July 29 – Stroke – Count the putts. Duty: Annette Brereton, Helen Hayes.

Saturday, August 1 – Stroke – 4th Qualifying Round Gartside Cup – Monthly Medal. Duty: Andrew Harris, Darren Carnie.