Golf report

January 05, 2018

Rich River


A smaller field than usual took to the course on Tuesday, December 19 because of the extreme heat and the scores were even “hotter”.

Lawrie Wrest had an excellent 47 points to win B grade from the unlucky Paul James and Peter O’Halloran.

David Long had a great score to win A grade with Brian O’Neill also having a great day.

A total of 101 golfers played the east course with 41 stableford points winning a voucher.

A grade: 1st: David Long (45), 2nd: Brian O’Neill (43), 3rd: David Davison (42).

B grade: 1st: Lawrie Wrest (47), 2nd: Paul James (46), 3rd: Peter O’Halloran (45).

NTPs: 3rd: Jim Wagstaff, Aaron Loader and Bob Thomas. 8th: Gary Edwards, Ray Burgman and Paul James. 13th: Jeff Ridge, Brian Suffolk and Graeme Bennett. 16th: Jim Wagstaff, Peter McLaughlin and Bob Thomas.

Eagle: 6th: Darren Toll.

Super-pin: 4th: Bob Thomas ($75).

Daryl George had the score of the day on the 21st to win the C grade event with Mick Mahady and Ray Kissell winning A and B grade respectively, with fine scores of forty-two stableford points.

A group of 196 played the east course with 38 points winning a voucher.

A grade: 1st: Mick Mahady (42), 2nd: Ray Carr (42), 3rd: Robin Quinn (41).

B grade: 1st: Ray Kissell (42), 2nd: Brett Morton (40), 3rd: John Lane (40).

C grade: 1st: Daryl George (43), 2nd: Eric Qualmann (42), 3rd: Frank Hobbs (41).

NTPs: 3rd: Glenn Rogers, Brian Malone and Alan Peach. 8th: Ivan Kirkby, Jayden Dixon and Clarke Taylor. 13th: Ross North and Kerry Kreeck. 16th: Leigh Hicks, Stephen Moss and Ken Rice.

Super-pin: 4th: Leigh Hicks ($159).

Big hitting Greg Cadd had a great round to take out the A grade event on Saturday, December 23 with the consistent Peter Sargentson runner-up.

Noel Dixon had an excellent 44 points to win B grade with committee-man Terry Jeoffreys getting the chocolates in C grade.

Steve Jones got the early Christmas present when he won the super-pin on the fourth.

It was a big field of 183 on the west course with 37 points winning a voucher.

A grade: 1st: Greg Cadd (41), 2nd: Peter Sargentson (40), 3rd: Blair Christie (39).

B grade: 1st: Noel Dixon (44), 2nd: Neil Edwards (41), 3rd: Steve McCoomb (40).

C grade: 1st: Terry Jeoffreys (40), 2nd: Charlie McKenzie (39), 3rd: Jeff Carnie (37).

NTPs: 4th: Steve Jones, Ross Taylor and Ted Retallick. 8th: Graham Peat, Steve Robinson and Terry Jeoffreys. 13th: Peter Baldock, Harley Williams and Colin Short.

Super-pin: 4th: Steve Jones ($167).

Boxing Day saw 77 golfers on the west course with 39 stableford points winning a voucher.

Visitor Richard Duerden had an excellent score to win the event with Steve Morgan winning two nearest the pins.

A grade: 1st: Richard Duerden (43), 2nd: Ross Mitchell (42), 3rd: Bernie Hoefnagels (42).

NTPs: 4th: Phillip Hazelman, Rob Kilgour and Bob Peters. 8th: Steve Morgan, Malcolm Mitchell and Bernie Hoefnagels. 13th: Steve Morgan, Keith Jones and Ian Rathjen.

Super-pin: 4th: Phillip Hazelman ($59).

Visitor George Theore had the score of the day to take the B grade prize on Thursday, December 28.

Stewart Mancer continued his good form to take out A grade and Paul James won the major prize in C grade.

A big field swelled the super-pin prize and Steve McCoomb was the happy recipient.

A group of 195 played the west course with plus 2 winning a voucher.

A grade: 1st: Stewart Mancer (+6), 2nd: Phil Hazelman (+5), 3rd: Paul Allan (+5).

B grade: 1st: George Theore (+9), 2nd: Noel Reidy (+6), 3rd: Gordon Jasch (+6).

C grade: 1st: Paul James (+6), 2nd: Dean Zadow (+4), 3rd: Kieran Carney (+3).

NTPs: 4th: Ian Doak, Steve McCoomb and Max Ryder. 8th: John Stratton, Keith Jones and George Benham. 13th: Len Prior, Steven Bird and Neil Dyson.

Eagle: 16th: Steve Levy.

Super-pin: 4th: Steve McCoomb ($170).

Windy but fine conditions produced some excellent scores in the last Saturday competition for the year on December 30.

A countback was required to decide all three A grade placings with Ian Peebles, a visitor from Peninsula Kingswood Country Golf Club edging out Des Carey and club champion Kirk Ardley.

Chris Day won the B grade event and Jamie Cowlishaw had the score of the day to win C grade from Kieran Dullard and Stuart Milgate.

The down-wind par five eleventh provided three eagles for the day and John Clancy won the biggest and last super-pin of the year on December 16.

It was a huge field of 203 on the east course with 37 points winning a voucher.

A grade: 1st: Ian Peebles (40), 2nd: Des Carey (40), 3rd: Kirk Ardley (40).

B grade: 1st: Chris Day (42), 2nd: John Main (41), 3rd: Brian Malone (40).

C grade: 1st: Jamie Cowlishaw (44), 2nd: Kieran Dullard (42), 3rd: Stuart Milgate (41).

NTPs: 3rd: Jeff Ridge, George Theore and Simon Cheong. 8th: Ray Carr, Jack Crawford and Jamie Cowlishaw. 13th: Des Carey, Greasi Wallace and Jeff Carnie. 16th: Peter Quanchi, John Clancy and Bill Ramsay.

Eagle: 11th: Ben Patten, Andrew Briggs and Bill Bayles.

Super-pin: 16th: John Clancy ($183).


Lyn Kingston blitzed the field of 18 players on the west course on Saturday, December 23.

Lyn won the Stableford round with 35 points and followed up with the super pin on the 13th and nearest the pin on the 4th hole for A grade.

Second on a countback was Pam Heywood (35).

Joy Adams was third (34).

The ball rundown went to 34 points.

Most of the 35 players in Wednesday’s par event on the east were out early to beat the heat.

They competed in just one division today.

There was a three way countback to determine the placegetters.

Results: 1st: Lorraine Bowman (+2), 2nd: Bernie Smith (+2), 3rd: Susan Hull (+2).

NTPs: 16th: A - Fran Galvin, B - Marilyn Carr, C - Judy Cook

Super pin: 8th: Toni Holmes.

Second shot: 13th: Deb Bawden.

The ball rundown went to minus 1.

Bernie Smith had another super Stableford round on Saturday, December 30 to give her a second win for the week.

Results: 1st: Bernie Smith (40), 2nd: Di Johnson on a countback (40), 3rd Di Symons (37).

NTPs: 16th: A - Di Johnson, B - Deb Bawden

Super pin: 8th: Lyn James.

The ball run down went to 34 points.

Beautiful weather greeted the 34 women who turned out for the first game of golf for the year on Monday.

A stableford round was played on the east front nine.

Division 1: 1st: Ruth Turpin (20), 2nd: Ingrid Cockcroft (19).

Division 2: 1st: Susan Hull (20), 2nd: Ann McPherson on a countback (20).

NTP: 8th: Courtney Loader

Second shot: Kay Sargentson

The ball run down went to 18 points.

A total of 78 players competed in bright and breezy conditions on Wednesday, January 3.

A Stableford round was played on the West course and some excellent scores were recorded.

Division 1: 1st: Bernie Smith (37), 2nd: Lyn Kingston (36), 3rd: Cath Kelly on a countback (36).

Division 2: 1st: Ann Velt (37), 2nd: Chris Kelly on a countback (37), 3rd: Lucille George (36).

Division 3: 1st: Susan Hull (41), 2nd: Lorraine Bowman on a countback (37), 3rd: Lorraine Brough (37).

NTPs 4th: A - Rosalie Drill.

Second shot:Cath Kelly

Super pin: 13th: Robyn Dyson

The ball rundown went to 32 points.

9 hole: 1st: Leonie Dunne (16), 2nd: Noeline Charlton (15).

More in Riverine Herald
Login Sign Up

Dummy text