Kyabram Fire Brigade wins big at GMC awards

By Brayden May

THE best players from the 2019-20 Goulburn Murray Cricket season have been recognised at the league's presentation night held last month.

Kyabram Fire Brigade was the big winner on the night after it was named Club of the Year, alongside several other award winners.

Rikki Busch won the bowling aggregate in B-grade, Scott Hearn was named C-grade's champion player and Cathy Dervish won the women's A-grade bowling aggregate.

Meanwhile Jesse Barker was named Under-21 Player of the Season.

Tongala also had wide-ranging success after Daniel Coombs picked up two A-grade awards and Tim Densley was awarded the bowling aggregate trophy for C-grade.

James Stokes and Scott Thompson were also recognised after being named as the curators of the year.

Other award winners from the surrounding area included Daniel Newton (Rushworth), Beauden Webber (Stanhope) and Dayne Webber (Stanhope).

Award winners


GMC Medal: Daniel Coombs (Tongala), 21 votes.

Champion player: Anthony McMahon (Moama), 802 points.

Batting aggregate: Daniel Coombs (Tongala), 652 runs at 54.3.

Bowling aggregate: Sean Williams (Rochester), 30 wickets at 12.4.


Champion player: Marcus Maher (Moama), 703 points.

Batting aggregate: Marcus Maher, 428 runs at 42.8.

Bowling aggregate: Rikki Busch (KFB), 25 wickets at 7.2.


Champion player: Scott Hearn (KFB), 598 points.

Batting aggregate: Daniel Newton (Rushworth), 457 runs at 45.4.

Bowling aggregate: Tim Densley (Tongala), 27 wickets at 8.4.


Champion player: Beauden Webber (Stanhope), 490 points.

Batting aggregate: Dayne Webber (Stanhope), 377 runs at 75.4.

Bowling aggregate: Liam Gundry (Echuca South), 21 wickets at 15.2.


Champion player: Waugh George (Rochester), 429 points.

Batting aggregate: Waugh George (Rochester), 269 runs at 89.7.

Bowling aggregate: Fletcher Good (Echuca South), 15 wickets at 12.7.

Women’s A-grade

GMC women’s cricketer of the year: Raechel Gardiner (Shepparton United), 24 votes.

Batting aggregate: Raechel Gardiner (Shepparton United), 202 runs at 40.4.

Bowling aggregate: Cathy Dervish (KFB), 16 wickets at 11.5.

Women’s B-grade

Batting aggregate: Marita Rinaldi (West Bendigo), 126 runs.

Bowling aggregate: Megan Hansen (Nathalia), 8 wickets at 5.75.

General awards

Women’s Under-21 Player of the Year: Macey Brereton (Leitchville-Gunbower).

Under-21 Player of the Year: Jesse Barker (KFB).

Champion Club: Kyabram Fire Brigade.

Umpire of the Year: Chris Hinks.

Junior Coach of the Year: Russell Crow (Cooma).

Curator of the Year: James Stokes and Scott Thompson (Tongala).

Volunteer of the Year: Brendan Martin (Rochester).