Golf report | July 10

By Riverine Herald

Rich River


Tuesday, June 30

In years to come Cooper and Rohan will look back fondly on “Gentle Tuesday” as they both went about dismantling the field.

Rohan had the round of the day, just pipping a stiff David Cockroft.

Graham Wood was also in scintillating touch claiming C-grade, whilst a mention must go to the always impeccably dressed David Whytcross, who had an eagle and was close to taking out A-grade.

A total of 188 golfers played the east course with nett 73 on a countback, winning a voucher.

A-grade: 1st: Cooper Gentle (nett 68), 2nd: David Whytcross (nett 69), 3rd: Mitchell O’Dwyer (nett 70).

B-grade: 1st: Rohan Gentle (nett 63 c/b), 2nd: David Cockroft (nett 63), 3rd: Len Adams (nett 68 c/b).

C-grade: 1st: Graham Wood (nett 69 c/b), 2nd: Colin Fanning (nett 69), 3rd: Angus Baldwin (nett 70 c/b).

Eagles: 5th — Cooper Gentle; 15th — David Whytcross.

Thursday, July 2

Another large field of 196 golfers tested their wits on the east course, with nett 75, on a countback winning a voucher.

The ever-consistent John Bedford putted himself to a commanding A-grade victory.

Dieter Zeissner was equally impressive in B-grade, whereas a stoic Neil Moresco came out on top of a taxing C-grade day.

A-grade: 1st: Alan Eacott (nett 69), 2nd: John Trebilcock (nett 70), 3rd: Lindsay Mudge (nett 71 c/b).

B-grade: 1st: Paul James (nett 69 c/b), 2nd: Malcolm Mitchell (nett 69), 3rd: Geoff Burke (nett 71 c/b).

C-grade: 1st: Geoff Kelly (nett 68), 2nd: Mark Riley (nett 71 c/b), 3rd: Angus Baldwin (nett 71).

Eagle: 5th — Stephen Morgan.

Saturday, July 4

Saturday golf was back off the black for the Privilege Cup with many golfers finding the course testing.

Alex Stevens was the exception, blowing the field away to take home the cup as well as B-grade honours.

Robert Vick held Foskett at bay in A-grade and Shane Phelan pipped Jaworski in C-grade.

In other golfing news, with the injection of fresh young recruits like Graham Peat, the Hakkas are sitting proudly on top of the Premier League ladder.

A total of 195 played the east course with 31 points on a countback winning a voucher.

A-grade: 1st: Robert Vick (37 c/b), 2nd: David Foskett (37), 3rd: Graham Peat (36 c/b).

B-grade: 1st: Alex Stevens (39 and Privilege Cup), 2nd: Craig Maconachie (38), 3rd: Albie Missen (37 c/b).

C-grade: 1st: Shane Phelan (35 c/b), 2nd: Richard Jaworski (35), 3rd: Stuart Cray (33).


Saturday, July 4

A total of 33 ladies entered the east course 18-hole stableford competition.

The run down went to 27.

Overall results

1st: Colleen Lynch (36 c/b).

2nd: Georgie Azzopardi (36).

3rd: Fran Galvin (34).

Monday, July 6

A nine and 18-hole stableford competition was held on Monday.

There were 30 entrants for the 18-hole and 25 entrants for the nine-hole.

It was played on the east course.

Overall winners — 18 holes

1st: Susanne Riddington (36).

2nd: Di Stewart (35).

3rd: Vicki Kelly (33).

The run down went to 28.

Overall winners — nine holes

1st: Leonie Dunne (20).

2nd: Fran Murphy (19).

3rd: Georgina Roberts (18).

The run down went to 15.

Wednesday, June 17

A reduced field of 58 ladies, due to the border restrictions, saw an 18-hole stroke competition on the east course.

Noeline King took out the monthly medal with a lovely 70 nett points.

The run down went to 78 points.

A-grade: 1st: Rosey Devlin (75 c/b), 2nd: Dale Haw (75), 3rd: Sue Mulcahy (76 c/b).

B-grade: 1st: Noeline King (70), 2nd: Ros Pellegrino (71 c/b), 3rd: Lorraine Bowman (71).

There is currently still no super or nearest-the-pins.

Back nine

Men’s pairs: 1st: Dennis Jackman and Jim Hind (34 points), 2nd: Arie S. and Murray Osbourne (33).

Women’s pairs: 1st: Dulcie Van Der Fleet and Josie Kirkman (34), 2nd: Pam Kerr and Ellen Banko (30).

Men’s NTP: 6th — Jim Miller.

Women’s NTP: 4th — Josie Kirkman; 6th — Winnie Lavery.

Straightest drive: Men — Dennis Jackman; Women — Ellen Banko.


It was a great day at Bamawm on Sunday with over 30 players competing in a stroke round.

Winner of the ladies’ competition was Leisa Evans with a score of 92-18-74 with Kath Connors runner-up.

NTP: 7/16 — Karen Taylor

Nearest the line: 9/18 — Leisa Evans

Count the putts: Leisa Evans

Longest drive: Anita Ward

Winner of the men’s competition was Ben Newth with a score of 86-19-67 by one shot from Todd Louttit on 69-1-68.

NTP: 7/16 — Graham Turner; 8/17 — Shane Dyson; 4/13 — Todd Louttit.

Nearest the line: 9/18 — Graham Turner

Longest drive: David Winchcomb

Count the putts: Ben Newth

Next Sunday is a special day for the club with our annual Ward/McAsey Day.


Saturday’s par round saw numbers boosted by visitors from Bamawm.

Best on course and winner of the Giddings Co Player of the Day voucher was Ian Haines, who finished square with the card.

Ian also won B-grade, ahead of Kahl Oliver (Bamawm) also square and Colin Bacon (-1) in a competitive finish.

Kevin Humbert was back in the winner’s circle in A-grade with -1, with Matt Baulch and Trav Mancer next best on -4.

C-grade was won by Andrew Palmer (Bamawm), square with the card, from Tom Scurrah (-1) and Des Pentreath (-3).

NTPs: 17th — Sam Newth (Bamawm); second shot 13th — Grant Humbert (A), Ray Brereton (B), JD Wright (C); second shot 18th for the eight-pack smack — Gary Milligan.

Spike’s Longest Drive on the fourth, sponsored by Hot ‘n’ Cold Plumbing — Grant Humbert (A), Ian Haines (B), Jai Milligan (C).

Tom Scurrah won the 12 balls in the Echuca CIH eagles nest with a fine shot on the third, but Captain Bricka’s yardstick wasn’t won and has jackpotted to $128.50 for next week.

Three more first-round matches in the Handicap Matchplay Championship have been decided.

Tom Scurrah scored a remarkable comeback victory over the in-form Andy Freemantle, one-up. Andy was four-up with five holes to play but Tom then won the next five to snatch victory from the jaws of defeat.

In a match of many lead changes, Ron Dixon was one-up after the 12th, but Ian Haines then won the next three holes to take a two-up lead and held on over the concluding holes to eventually win, 2 and 1.

Jeff Carnie was three-up after eight holes against Stuart Newton, who then won the ninth and 11th to close the gap.

Jeff then won the 13th and 14th to lead three-up, but Stuart then won the 16th and 17th to again get back in the contest.

With the match on the line on the 18th, Jeff finished with a great par to win the match, two-up.

Last Wednesday the ladies played a stableford event.

Winner of the Giddings Co Player of the Day voucher was Phyll Macfarlane with 32 points, on a countback from Carolyn Mitchell.

Phyll also won B-grade, with Jan Clymo next best on 29.

A-grade honours went to Carolyn Mitchell with 32, narrowly from Pauline Humbert.

NTP: A-grade — Carolyn Mitchell; B-grade — Jan Clymo.

Upcoming events

Wednesday, July 8 — Pottose. Duty: Kathy Connors, Jenny Holt.

Saturday, July 11 — Stroke — Third Qualifying Round Gartside Cup — Monthly Medal. Duty: Ian Maddison, JD Wright.