Pennant win for women

By Seymour Telegraph

The Seymour women’s pennant final was held on Monday, June 3 at Euroa and the Seymour Division 1 team had a great win over Alexandra.

The day was cold but the forecast rain did not arrive and with the teams very evenly matched it was a solid 3 to 1 win to the Seymour side. This was a great end to a successful season for the men’s and women’s pennant for Seymour Golf Club. Once again, thanks go to all the members who committed themselves to play pennant over the season and also to the support given to those teams.

It was perfect winter week for golf and Wednesday was the monthly medal for the women.

Sharon Cresswell had the best score of the day to win the medal and B-grade with a steady score of 91-19=72. The A-grade winner was Ricky Rickman, who had 87-12=75 to win on a countback from Dale Stuart.

The nearest-the-pin on the 17th was Pam Jarvis. A score of net 76 was needed for a ball and those went to Sharon Cresswell, Ricky Rickman, Dale Stuart and Di Byrne.

The men played stableford on Wednesday and the best score for the day went to John Boruch (12) who had a very nice 41 points to win A-grade. The B-grade winner was Stormy Tempest (17) with 37 points.

The nearest-the-pins went to Mark Fountain on the fourth, Mark Corradin on the sixth, Ian Richardson on the 17th and the 12th stayed with the club. To be in the ball pool a score of 34 points was needed.

The mixed nine holes was won by Stubby Byrne (25) with 18 points, and the runner-up was Phillip Block with 14 points.

On Friday the social six holes was played over holes 10-15 and the game was par.

There were three players with the top score of square. Gary Wright, Michael Papworth and Erin Sage visiting from Heathcote shared the winning score.

Saturday was the monthly combined club event so there was only the one competition on the day.

The best score was in B-grade with Sandy Cresswell (15) scoring 40 points to win on a countback from Rob Oldman.

The A-grade winner was Peter Nelson (5) with 38 points; C-grade was won by John Mundy (23) with 36 points.

The nearest-the-pins went to the club on the fourth, Mark Corradin on the sixth, Dan O’ Sullivan on the 12th and Terry Lemon on the 17th.

The drive and pitch on the eighth was won by Peter Nelson and the 15th went to Graham Kiper.

The ball pool went to those with 36 points or better.

Next Friday the social six holes is stroke over holes 10-15. The Parker Plate starts on Saturday which is a four-ball better-ball par event for the men and the women. This event is played over two weeks and the scores from both weeks are added to determine the winning pair for the men and the women.


It was tough going at Nagambie on Sunday with a par event being played on heavy ground conditions and with a thick dew hanging on the greens longer than usual.

The day’s winning score belonged to Gary Bow with a square result. After turning -2 Gary put together a very well executed back nine of +2 which was enough to claim the win ahead of Greg Whiteman on a countback. Runner-up Whiteman battled for most of the day as he does most weeks for his square result. Third place went to Tim Baldwin who always shines through this time of year, with -2.

The nearest-the-pins went to Alan Anderson with superb shot to the 3rd and the only other was Gary Bow plonking one onto the 16th. Next week will be the start of another pennant season with Nagambie taking on Tocumwal at Mooroopna; local golf will be the first round of the social club trophy – stableford.

On office duty is J. Ezard and in the bar T. Baldwin.


Results from June 5: third round Club Championship, monthly medal (8), silver spoon (3).

A-grade winner was Irene Keogh with 99-21-78 nett.

B-grade and C-grade winner and monthly medal and silver spoon winner was Deidre Kleinig with 107-29-78 nett on a countback from Irene Keogh.

The 18-hole balls went to Deidre and Irene; nine-hole balls went to Deidre and Irene.

NTP on the third hole was Irene Keogh, and on the 16th was Jane Bow.

On June 6 there were 16 players for stroke competition played on the front nine.

Winner was John Bond with 45-11-34 nett.

Today, June 12, will be the fourth round of the Club Championship.

June 13 will be par event to be played on the back nine with NTP on the 16th hole.


Last Saturday was a stableford round and the short course was once again put to the test.

The men had a great roll-up and Matt Eddy had a terrific day scoring 40 points to claim the winner’s voucher, one point ahead of his playing partner on the day, Jack Smith.

Matt, Jack, Alex Smith and David Grecian were ball winners with David collecting another ball for his second shot to the 17th.

The women had a somewhat smaller field with Lauris Truscott having the best score of 36 points.

Lauris and Yvonne Sloper were ball winners and Maureen King scored a ball for her second shot to the 17th.

This Thursday we are hosting the Mabel Vearing Silver Salver women’s event, and with great entries already received we’re hoping the weather gods will be kind.

The course is looking terrific thanks to some timely rain and lots of work by our members.

Saturday’s golf will be a Pinehurst event and JCS Electrical Solutions and Donovan Building have each offered $100 in prize money for the best overall scratch and handicap scores of the day. The event is open to members from other clubs as well, and any combination can enter — be it men, ladies or mixed teams. (Please note, a team cannot win both the scratch and handicap event.)

We will be hitting off at noon so players should be at the club by 11.30am to register. Any inquiries can be made with Jared Smith on 0407546917 or Lyn Carracher on 0427985268.

In the meantime, good golfing to everyone.