Prizes for shooters from first to fifth place

By Riverine Herald

ECHUCA-MOAMA Field and Game’s 85 attendees at the recent February shoot were very fortunate as the club was sponsored by two very generous local businesses, Cox Engineering and Mayes Tyre Power, allowing the club to award prizes right down to 5th place in every grade and category.

The Jack Howe Memorial shoot is a 75 target handicap shoot held every February in honour of the late Jack Howe, a man involved in Field and Game for many years, who was a major part of our club.

The Howe Family shield is awarded to the shooter who has the highest score for the day including their handicap, and this year it was won by Seymour member Steven Gawley, who had a handicap score of 71 out of 75.

As the club does with all events, whether they are handicapped or off-the-gun, High Gun is awarded to the shooter who shoots the highest score off the gun (the shooters raw score).

Shepparton’s Michael Baldwin maintained his recent good form to be the High Gun winner with a score of 67 out of 75, two targets ahead of the next closest competitors.

With the rest of the results including handicaps, there were a few places decided by countback after shooters ended up on the same overall score.

AA grade 1st and 2nd was decided this way, with a round three score of 23 giving Swan Hill’s Chris Charleson the win over Shepparton’s Grant Sandford, who shot a score of 22 in that round.

A grade and Sub Junior winners were also determined using count back, with Nick Kalogerakis from Shepparton taking the A grade win with a score of 69 over Barrook’s Lee Lewis, and Bendigo’s Tom Dixon winning Sub Juniors over Bianca Norris from Echuca, both with a handicap score of 57.

The club would like to thank all of our members whose time and effort goes into making our events so successful. Past president Tim Finnegan and helpers who set up the course for shooters to test their skill on, the members that give up their time to work in the canteen and noms hut, those who helped to keep clay target traps full during the day, and everyone who helped to pack up at the end of the day.

It is no small feat to put days like this on, and we are very fortunate to have so many members willing to give up their time to make our sport enjoyable for all participants.

The clubs next shoot will be held on Sunday, March 17, with shooting to begin at 10am. This will be an off-the-gun event consisting of 75 targets.

Any enquiries to club president Ricky Keirl on 0418922951 or check out the club’s Facebook page.

February Shoot results:

High Gun: Michael Baldwin (Shepparton) 67/75 OTG.

Jack Howe Memorial: Steven Gawley (Seymour) 71/75 hcp.

AA Grade: 1st: Chris Charleson (Swan Hill) 68/75, 2nd: Grant Sandford (Shepp) 68/75, 3rd: Wayne Stiff (Wodonga) 66/75, 4th: Ricky Keirl (E/M) 65/75, 5th: Steve Norris (E/M) 65/75.

A Grade: 1st: Nick Kalogerakis (Shepp) 69/75, 2nd: Lee Lewis (Barrook) 69/75, 3rd: Ian Grant (Ballarat) 67/75, 4th: Chris Smith (E/M) 66/75, 5th: Tim Finnegan (E/M) 65/75.

B Grade: 1st: Chris Ruedin (Bendigo) 70/75, 2nd: Chris Burder (Benalla) 68/75, 3rd: Shane Norris (Ky) 62/75, 4th: Kevin Crisp (E/M) 62/75, 5th: Russell Cook (Dunolly) 62/75.

C Grade: 1st: Peter Keirl (E/M) 70/75, 2nd: Matthew Williams (Sunraysia) 65/75, 3rd: Robbie Donovan (Rushworth) 65/75, 4th: Daryl Scott (E/M) 61/75, 5th: Geoff Hogan (Wycheproof) 61/75.

Vets: 1st: Geoff Pymer (E/M) 68/75, 2nd: Doug Frankling (Barrook) 65/75, 3rd: Wally Lowrie (Pinegrove) 61/75, 4th: Brian Hutson (Barrook) 59/75, 5th: Trevor Smith (Barrook) 59/75.

Ladies: 1st: Vicki Norris (Ky) 61/75, 2nd: Emma Keirl (E/M) 50/75, 3rd: Bethany Mills (Deni) 47/75, 4th: Tammy Donovan (Rushworth) 41/75.

Juniors: 1st: Tom Bilney (Shepp) 66/75, 2nd: Zoe Heinrich (Sunraysia) 64/75, 3rd: Harry Wilkie (E/M) 57/75.

Sub Jnrs: 1st: Tom Dixon (Bendigo) 57/75, 2nd: Bianca Norris (E/M) 57/75, 3rd: Nicholas Cox (E/M) 40/75, 4th: Rebecca Ruedin (Bendigo) 33/75.